Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very nice indeed! The house smelled wonderful while baking. I baked it right in my bread machine and it rose up nice and high. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Ever since 2003, this delicious bread has been a family tradition! This bread is so good - because flavor, not sweetness is it's forte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made it with my bread machine. And I was afraid the dough was going to be too wet. But after 3.30 hours, it was perfect!!! My family enjoyed this bread a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moraganika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Really Good, kids said they would not eat pumpkin bread, but when they tried it. they loved it. I followed recipe for my bread machine ecept scaled it up to 16 servings (2 pound loaf), and use fresh milk for water & powder, and butter for margarine. Great aroma reminiscent of hot cross buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
i made this in my kitchenaid. used instant yeast,upped pumpkin to 1 cup and decreased the water to 2 T. this worked for me but you may need more or less water to make your dough workable.i then added everything but half the flour and mixed on speed 2 with the paddle attachment while adding rest of the flour in slowly. when everything is incorporated i switched to dough hook and kneaded on speed 4 for about 7 minutes. let rise in a greased bowl till doubled then shaped into a pumpkin. let rise until doubled then egg glazed it scored it from top to bottom to resemble the lines on a pumpkin.then added poppy seeds to the scores to make the lines stand out. my kids loved it. forgot, i used butter instead of margarine.EDIT: just wanted to give an idea of how i shaped this. first i cut off a small handleful of dough for the stem and rolled it into a cylinder then twisted it a little. then took remaining dough and shaped into a tight round. i then took my rolling pin , which has no handles and pushed it into the center of the dough till it touched the counter. it makes a little well for the stem to fit in. the dough will eventually rise and the stem will be sitting up high. stick the stem inside the well and let dough rise. i hope this helps..not the best person to explain things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This bread is a beautiful color, smells delicious, but is a little short on flavor. My hsuband expected it to be sweeter. I did increase the cinnamon, as others had suggested. Consistency of a white bread rather than a fruit bread. It was "interesting".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good. Really moist bread. I used half a butternut squash which I roasted in the oven then mashed. Would prefer this without the cinnamon & nutmeg. A more savoury bread would be much better. Will try again adding some chives, cheese & garlic to the mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Nice flavor, not overally pumpkin tasting. I think it would make a great base for stuffed french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Nice recipe -- I did make some changes. I bumped up the pumpkin to 3/4 a can and then skimped on the flour, using only about 2 1/2 cups. I omitted the salt (watching my blood pressure!) and added a little vanilla and some dried cranberries 1/4 cup. Next time, I will use more cranberries. I can eat tons of this and not destroy my sodium count! Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was wonderful. I think next time I"ll back the amount of brown sugar to about half. It was very good and had a hint of a spicy pumpkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States