Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
A savory bread, it made beautiful dinner rolls last Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This bread is amazing. Let me tell you first, I got a bread machine last Christmas and after trying about 6 different recipes from scratch & had every one of them collapse, I thought I couldn't make bread. So I've only been making the box mixes since, which are very expensive and not that good. I really didn't expect this to turn out at all given my track record. That said, I did make some changes based on tips from several reviewers. I used a whole cup of pumpkin puree and reduced the water to 2 tablespoons. Also added a pinch of clove spice and 1/2 cup raisins. This bread turned out delicious! As others have said, it is a very mild flavor. So much so that I think the next time I make it, I will cut all the spices out and see if it doesn't make a good sandwich bread. I think the pumpkin is what makes it very moist, and the pumpkin flavor by itself (minus the pie spices) would probably compliment a ham or turkey sandwich quite nice. I'm so happy I found this recipe....1st successful bread loaf made from scratch. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made a few changes, and the bread came out AWESOME, one of the best I've made in my breadmaker and I make bread all the time. I upped the yeast to 1 Tablespoon based on some of the comments. I added 1 Tablespoon of vital wheat gluten because I always do (if you can get your hands on this, it will greatly improve all of your bread) and I added 3/4 cup of finely chopped pecans because I had them and it seemed like it would go really well with the flavors in the bread (it did!). The finished loaf was high, with a beautiful color, taste and texture. I served it toasted and spread with a mixture of butter and honey. OMG!! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Awesome, been making it for everyone and have rave reviews!!!! Love it! Easy, tasty and healthy ingredients too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Used this to make pumpkin bagels. Taste not very pumpkin-y. Add more pumpkin next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I thought this was great tasting - and not too heavy. I increased the spices, as suggested, to get more pumpkin taste, but other than that, followed directions exactly and it turned out maybe the best shape of any bread I've made to date. Nice rise. I agree this recipe would be great for dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Love this bread! Only changes I make (for our family's tastes) are that I change the margarine to butter (to save the trans fat), I increase the cinnamon by 1/4 tsp. and add 1/8 tsp. cloves. I also use two cups of white bread flour and one cup of wheat flour. Has a great mild flavor and nice texture. I make the dough in the bread machine and then braid the dough (like challah) and bake at 350 degrees for approx. 25 minutes. Brush with melted butter (just a little!) when it comes out of the oven. YUM! My six-year-old especially loves this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it worked out perfectly in my breadmaker, and tastes great. Its good eaten warm but even better toasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wonderful! Used it for french toast (and ate it just plain), and it was delicious and light. I intend to try bread pudding with it one day. Also, I made it a bit healthier by substituting 2 cups of whole wheat flour (or enough added to two Tbls of vital wheat gluten to make 2 cups) for the bread flour (I used plain old white flour for the other 1-3/4 cups). Still turned out light and great. Also, I used 1/4 cup shortening instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Very nice indeed! The house smelled wonderful while baking. I baked it right in my bread machine and it rose up nice and high. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States