Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
These are absolutely DELICIOUS. I made the batter as directed. The first batch of cookies flattened too much, but after the batter had sat for about 10 minutes, it thickened nicely and the cookies were perfect. I used a 2 tbsp. mini ice cream scoop so they'd be the same size, and I had no problems with them keeping a funky shape while baking. They smoothed out perfectly. I used a different filling: 1 large tub Cool Whip, 8 oz cream cheese, 2/3 cup sugar and 2 tsp. vanilla, whipped together. It was light, not too rich. The flavor of the pies was much better after they rested overnight. MAKE THIS RECIPE. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very yummy. Mine were done at 10 minutes. I do prefer cream cheese filling with pumpkin, so I used the cream cheese II recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
OMG!! These were amazing! I made them for a FBLA fundraiser for my son, and they were the first thing to sell out. Not before hubby kept some for himself. I did use a different filling (1 cup butter, 1 cup marshmallow creme, 2 cups confectioners sugar & 2 tsp vanilla). These are heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I have made these whoopie pies close to a dozen times since I found the recipe and they always turn out excellent. Everyone loves them because they are not overly sweet, but are super moist. I always add a little extra cloves or "baking spice" to make them extra spicy, just because that is the way I like them. If you beat your egg white until stiff peaks form the frosting is even fluffier. It is true that they turn out pretty much how they are put onto the cookie sheet so using a piping bag (or a ziploc bag with the corner cut off) will result in a smoother cookie top. I have never tried the cream cheese filling but I would think it would be too rich. The best part about this recipe is you can eat more than one, because they are not icky sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
These cookies are excellent! Make sure to bake at least 12 minutes. When trying a new recipe, I always do a trial run with only a few cookies to see how long to bake, space apart on the cookie sheet, etc. My first batch appeared to be done, but then the cookies fell and I realized they were underdone. The rest of them came out perfectly. I used a regular cookie dough scoop and the cookies looked great. With the icing, make sure to beat your egg white at a high setting for about 10 minutes. I added just a touch of cream of tartar to it during this stage. The icing took about 15 minutes to make and I had some left over. The cookies are not too sweet, which makes them so enjoyable. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katsdarb
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Don't pass up this recipe! I do not care that much for pumpkin but I made them for DH and Kids--me as well as them LOVED these pies. Only changes were to add 1/2 apple sauce to replac 1/2 oil, add 2tsp xtra cinnamon, and 1tsp xtra vanilla in filling and sprinkled w/powdered sugar---DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsdarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tellico Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Can't keep my hands off these! Everyone says they would be better with cream cheese filling, which I tried. But, I still prefer the creamy white filling. The cream cheese seams to take away from the delicious pumpkin cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I've reviewed these before with rave reviews but this time.... I added some lemon extract to the cream cheese frosting recipe and they were heavenly, Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was really pretty good. I loved the filling, it wasn't too sweet, but worked well with the pumpkin part. I used the EggBeaters eggwhites instead of regular eggs, and they worked great. One problem I had with the pumpkin part though was it ended up very sticky, so I couldn't wrap them, and eating them left chunks on the fingers. Something else to bear in mind, these don't really spread out, so whatever shape you plop them onto the pan in is the shape your cookies will have. But the cream filling? Fabulous, especially for someone that isn't keen on exceedingly sweet things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
You have to try this....Moist, tasty, and a great crowd pleaser. They are better then bakery sold. Very easy to prepare, could probably use mix for muffins. FYI, does not spread all to much on baking sheet. How you scoop it, that is the shape that primarily comes out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States