Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These are wonderful! Although, I admit I have yet to finish making them, I know they will be delicious. I will be making "Cream Cheese Frosting II" from this site. The reviews were correct in that they essentially bake in the same form that they're placed on the sheet. So, after using a mini-2-tsp cookie scoop, I dampened my finger and flattened out each cookie and thinned it out a bit. I used a stone cookie sheet, and baked for 12 minutes. This made 54 pies (or 108 halves). Very fluffy, and very delicious! Can't wait to taste the final product!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bethany, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Liked the recipe, liked the cookies. Not enough pumpkin though - I will probably double the amount in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used just a teaspoon of ginger and a teaspoon of cloves which was plenty. I also used 2 cups of unbleached flour and 1 cup of cake flour instead of regular all purpose flour. They turned out extrememly light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The best! Everyone always enjoys them when I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My kids love these. Always begging me to make them, and they are very picky about desserts. I use a cream cheese frosting for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These are just great!!!!! Everybody at my work just love them. Didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Bolt
Home Town: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made these for a cook-off at work and won 3rd place!!! My co-workers were complimenting me for days. I used a small cookie scoop to drop them onto the cookie sheet and flattened them out before putting them in the oven. I made a test batch and after letting them sit for a day they became really soggy. I baked the second batch longer, but they still end up being so moist that if you don't eat them within the first day, you end up eating them with a fork. It doesn't matter though because they taste great no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was my first time making whoopie pies, an overall sucess I think! The big thing that I did was I actually made these pumpkin- cocoa whoopie pies by adding between 1/4-1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder and a handful of white sugar. The cookies themselves came out very well. The texture reminded me so much of a devil dog, which I love! The filling was a bit scary for me because I never have had much sucess with whipping, though it came out pretty well. The big dilemma that I ran into was that the filling was way, way, way too sweet for my preference. To balance it out I started adding some nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon. While I put the nutmeg away after about 1/4-1/2 teaspoon, I think that I might have added at least a tablespoon or two of cinnamon and about half as much pumpkin pie spice. The spices were still understated though helped balance out the sweetness a bit. When I assembled I found that I ran out of filling with three sandwiches left. Maybe I used too much, though according to pictures of how much cream you see in the middle, I think I might have gone a little bit light. Overall, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralovesfood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I really like these cookies. Though I did find that you must be careful not to stack them on top of each other. They are so moist they will stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These are moist and delicious. If you're not a huge fan of the spices, I'd cut down the amount of cloves that you use and maybe reduce the ginger slightly as well. If you like a lot of filling, I'd make 1 1/2 - 2 of the recipe for the filling. I got about 20-22 whoopie pies (40-44 cookies) out of it (some were small), and I had just enough filling for them--some had only a very thin layer. Otherwise, they were fun to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States