Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My kids love these. Always begging me to make them, and they are very picky about desserts. I use a cream cheese frosting for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
These are just great!!!!! Everybody at my work just love them. Didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made these for a cook-off at work and won 3rd place!!! My co-workers were complimenting me for days. I used a small cookie scoop to drop them onto the cookie sheet and flattened them out before putting them in the oven. I made a test batch and after letting them sit for a day they became really soggy. I baked the second batch longer, but they still end up being so moist that if you don't eat them within the first day, you end up eating them with a fork. It doesn't matter though because they taste great no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was my first time making whoopie pies, an overall sucess I think! The big thing that I did was I actually made these pumpkin- cocoa whoopie pies by adding between 1/4-1/2 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder and a handful of white sugar. The cookies themselves came out very well. The texture reminded me so much of a devil dog, which I love! The filling was a bit scary for me because I never have had much sucess with whipping, though it came out pretty well. The big dilemma that I ran into was that the filling was way, way, way too sweet for my preference. To balance it out I started adding some nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, and cinnamon. While I put the nutmeg away after about 1/4-1/2 teaspoon, I think that I might have added at least a tablespoon or two of cinnamon and about half as much pumpkin pie spice. The spices were still understated though helped balance out the sweetness a bit. When I assembled I found that I ran out of filling with three sandwiches left. Maybe I used too much, though according to pictures of how much cream you see in the middle, I think I might have gone a little bit light. Overall, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralovesfood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I really like these cookies. Though I did find that you must be careful not to stack them on top of each other. They are so moist they will stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These are moist and delicious. If you're not a huge fan of the spices, I'd cut down the amount of cloves that you use and maybe reduce the ginger slightly as well. If you like a lot of filling, I'd make 1 1/2 - 2 of the recipe for the filling. I got about 20-22 whoopie pies (40-44 cookies) out of it (some were small), and I had just enough filling for them--some had only a very thin layer. Otherwise, they were fun to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Great flavors and so moist! I used a filling that is similar to the one for the Giant Ding Dong cake on allrecipes except I used all butter (no shortening) and added maple extract rather than vanilla. This provides a really fluffy and not too sweet addition to the cake-like cookies. This filling is commonly used for a Red Velvet Cake icing as well. I also "dried" the cookies on racks over night to keep them from sticking to each other or the container. Then filled them, placed wax paper between them, and refrigerated the container before taking to work the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KittyFanatic
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Made these as my first attempt at a whoopie pie. They were VERY good cookies! They stayed nice and soft. I used a 2Tbl sized cookie scoop, so they were nicely uniform. I used an entire can of pumpkin rather than leave a little in the can, and increased spices accordingly. I gave it five stars, because of the COOKIE PART ONLY. The filling was really pretty nasty. I added some canned cream cheese frosting to try to get rid of the nasty taste of the shortening. I'll definitely find another filling for the next time, but the cookie itself is a definite keeper. I didn't find a good way to wrap them. I used saran wrap, but it makes them a little sticky. I am thinking wax paper is the best way to wrap these up, then store in an airtight container of some sort. I stored a gallon bag of them (individually wrapped) in the freezer. They are just as good right out of the freezer! The cookie stays soft and they taste better chilled (IMHO). Will definitely do these again - everyone loved them, but will look for a better filling. The one here is just not good, with a funny aftertaste of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
The Whoopie Pies VIII is a better recipe. These cookies baked up small and round, no doubt because I had refrigerated the dough for quite awhile before baking. I would also use a cream cheese-type filling as this one is really too sweet. Still mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cre8ve Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made this according to recipe except used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of the whole 1 cup of oil. Loved them! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States