Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Time consuming, but worth it! These were a hit at my Halloween party. I made cream cheese frosting instead of the one in this recipe...perfectly complimented the pumpkin spice flavor of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblack1414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These were so delicious! As others recommended, I used 2T as a measurement for the dough and they were the perfect size. As a personal preference, I cut down on the cloves (used 1/4 tsp instead) as I'm not a huge fan of the clove taste. I also used the Libby's cream cheese filling recipe (6 tblsp butter, 4 oz cream cheese, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 1/2 c powdered sugar) instead. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
The cookies tasted amazing but the filling is gross! The second time I made these I just threw in some chocolate chips and these tasted great just like the store bought pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I only used the cookie portion of this recipe. Very delicious. I used a different filling since I didn't want raw egg in my filling. These would have been good just as cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Everone loved them! Though I would like to try a cream cheese filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I followed all of the directions and enjoyed this recipe. It was a hit at a bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These were delicious! My only problem with anything pumpkin that I make is that they become very moist after cooling. In order to decrease this effect, I store them in the fridge. Still amazing! Also, I used a different filling recipe with confectioner's sugar, shortening, milk, and marshmallow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these for my daughter's tailgate party after their playoff game. They were devoured in minutes. I added nutmeg to the dough mixture in equal quantities to the other spices and in the filling I added 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. The pumpkin pie spice added the little extra that I thought the recipe needed and tied it all together beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used half applesauce/half oil and more cinnamon, no cloves and about 1/2 cup more pumpkin. I made the cake portion different ways and found that piping it with a large decorating tip worked the best and kept the cookies a consistent size. The pumpkin flavor in the cakes is really good. I also used a cream cheese icing, as that is what I had, and they turned out wonderful! I froze the whoopie pies both before and after icing and had no problems with any sticky cakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made these for a bake sale but I made a cream cheese filling instead. When the cookies came out of the oven, I pressed them with a large cookie cutter shaped like a jack-o-lantern, they were soft enough to take the imprint yet stand up to it without crumbling. Everyone raved about them! One of the teens whose mom bought some came up to me and told me he LOVED them; they "tasted like pumpkin pie"! I kept some for my DH and me, too - and, refrigerated in a sealed bag, they were great snacks even two days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States