Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Made these for a Christmas party and they loved them!!! My son in law said they were like "heaven". After you make the cookie be sure and do not stack together even after cooled they still tend to stick together. Keep laid out separately. I cut out a Christmas tree stencil from image printed offline and laid on top ea. cooke and sprinkled powder sugar on top and it made a beautiful display of white Christmas trees! I want to explore even more flavors of "Whoopie Pies!" Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I haven't made these but a friend brought them over for a cookie exchange & they were amazing! Yummy...the filling is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was a HIT at our Thanksgiving dinner... From my 2 year old nephew to my 80 year old grandparents. I substituted the filling with the cheesecake filling that was suggested in other reviews and everything turned out terriffic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Very easy and delicious! I let my batter rest for a good 15-20 mins before I began scooping. I used a mini ice cream scoop and they came out nice and uniform. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and used cream cheese frosting for the filling, I think that was the key. I'm sure the original recipe is great as is, but to me pumpkin and cream cheese frosting just go :) Anyway, make sure to let them set up before serving to avoid the filling oozing out. These were a huge hit and everyone went on and on about how good they were. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I make these for my bake sales, sprinkle a little powdered sugar on top, and they always sell out! I do make a cream cheese filling that's not too overpowering with cream cheese but brings out the flavor; equal parts cream cheese and marshmallow creme, 1/2 part margarine or crisco, dash of vanilla and then I add enough powdered sugar to make the right consistency. They taste/sell better that way and you don't get a greasy aftertaste in your throat. The first batch I baked held their shape so I slightly flatten them and then they look perfect. Dont overbake these and they will stay moist. I also make them slightly smaller than the picture and for some reason it seems like they taste better that way! You can serve them yo your guests and they reach around better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roundhousecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perkins, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
These were excellent!! I made them for my 2 year old's daycare class for their Thanksgiving meal. They were the perfect size treat for little hands, and a toddler friendly way to introduce pumpkin as a dessert:) I did use a different recipe for the filling because I normally don't cook with shortening. I had no problem making them about the same size as each other (a previous post encountered that problem). I didn't realize making Whoopie Pies could be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
these turned out great, I use the Libby's pumpkin pie mix instead of the puree, just saved me the spices step, I'm all about easy, did make 1/2 the icing listed and 1/2 cream cheese icing, they both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holt6boys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this for a church potluck meal and they were a huge hit! I used a cookie dough scoop to make the pies the same size; however, next time I will use a smaller scoop. The pies are very filling and most people could not eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong as I just thought these didn't have a lot of taste and I should have used a cream cheese frosting inside. I used Pumpkin Pie spice instead of the spices listed and I used pumpkin cooked from scratch as I had 3 pie pumpkins I cooked. So not sure I will try again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a terrific recipe and the result is out of this world. My kids were begging for more. I did tweak it as follows: used 1 c. white and 1 c. brown sugar; added not quite 1/4 c. of molasses to the wet batter; and next time I will put some cinnaomon in the filling for a little extra spice. happy autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States