Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I loved these! I did make changes suggested by KSWillis and they came out beautifully. Using a cookie scoop (1/2 TBSP), I got exactly 36 pies. i put 12 on a cookie sheet, but you could get a few more. Mine came out about 2" in diameter. I had just a little filling left, so the measurements are dead on. I did substitute Neufchatel cheese for the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I used this recipe with a Pumpkin and Leaf Whoopie Pie pan. I loved the flavor but in order to get it to work with the pan (expand into the cracks and crevices) I had to tweak it a bit. At first I just tried adding water to thin it out. This worked but after sitting overnight they got sticky. Next I tried using a frosting bag and tip so I could manually fill the cracks/crevices. This worked but since the batter doesn't really spread you could see every piped row in the finished product. This sort of took away from the leaf/pumpkin look. Next I tried using a tiny bit of water to thin it just a little (I made it so that the consistency was somewhere between cake batter and cookie dough but closer to cookie dough) and used the frosting bag and it worked perfectly!! I still have a hint of lines on some of them but mostly gone! They taste fantastic and look great. Also - I used the cream cheese frosting recipe I found on this site. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These were a big hit. I also used the Cream Cheese II frosting(just a really small smear). We used fresh pumpkin that we had roasted and mashed. These were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are very good! I agree that the cream cheese filling is a much better combination with the pumpkin. However they are just as good without the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were sooo good! but i did make a few adjustments. i only had to bake mine for 9 mins so keep an eye on them. to the spices i added a little nutmeg, and a couple dashes of black pepper. my baking soda was a little old so i added 1/4 tsp extra. I did not make the confectioners sugar frosting. I made one by blending 8oz cream cheese, 2tbsp brown sugar, 2/3 cup confectioners sugar, and 2 tsp pure vanilla, then folding in 12oz of cool whip- fantastic combo of pumpkin with cream cheese. The cookies were light and fluffy with just the right amount of spice and not too sweet- will definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Vican

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I didn't change a thing and they came out perfectly. I used a heaping 1 tsp cookie scoop and using another reviews advice, I substituted the cream cheese II frosting. UNBELIEVABLY DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michellica
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! I had never made whoopie pies or even tried one before so I had no idea what to expect going into this. Anyway, I followed this recipe exactly (except I substituted meringue powder for the egg white in the filling) and it was delicious!! The texture is unlike anything I've had before. Like a moist, billowy, pumpkin spice cloud that just melts in your mouth. I will definitely make these again. Everyone loved them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Use large cookie scoop and not teaspoon size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
easy and delicious :) also fun to put a few in the freezer, and eat them frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States