Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
These muffins come out moist and delicious if a full cup of fresh pumpkin is used instead of 3/4 cup canned, and canola oil is used instead of vegetable oil. I also used 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger instead of pumpkin pie spice and they were not bland at all. They are much better eaten warm. They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I followed the advice of a previous review and used a full cup of pumpkin puree. I also used one 3/4 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of ginger and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg in place of the pumpkin pie spice. These turned out moist and delicious, with the added bonus of being healthier than most muffins. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I am very happy with this recipe! I am 31 years old and have never been able to make a edible muffin, they are usually tough from too much stirring or tasteless or fall apart, etc. This recipe is perfect for people like me, it is easy and my favorite - adaptable. I like to experiment with different ingredients, especially types of flours and this it the one that I can use. I made the muffins last night, using a heaping cup of fresh pumpkin puree and 2 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. I upped the raisins as well and left out the walnuts. Filled cups level to top as another reviewer suggested and they turned out very good, my three year old son loved them. I made another batch right away and used 1 cup of whl. wht. flour and half a cup oat flour, used chocolate chips instead of raisins and no walnuts.Again another heaping cup of fresh pumpkin and two tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and a heaping 1/4 tsp ginger. Turned out perfect. I can not wait to try this recipe with barley flour. Oh another hint that helped me alot was to stir the batter with a rubber spatula instead of a spoon and to fold the ingredients not stir! Thank you for helping me fix my "muffin mistakes". Would just like to add that I have made another batch of muffins a few days later, only I substituded fresh mashed pears for the pumpkin - even better with this friut! I had to bake longer than recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These are fantastic. I followed the recommendations of increasing the pumpkin and substituting half the oil for apple sauce. I didn't have spice mix so I added 1 tsp ginger, 1 tsp cinamon and half a tsp ground cloves and ground nutmeg. Best muffins I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I was really disapointed in the results of this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as it says and I was so excited because I really thought they were gonna turn out great because they smelled so wonderful baking. Well after baking them for 18 min. they were still not done so I added another 6 min. then they were done. I buttered one up and took a bite and was totally disapointed! They were extremely bland and had this dry 'wheat' bread taste. Not a moist and pumpkin-flavored muffin like I was expecting. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. I'm sorry, but it's quite terrible! YUCK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I used 1 cup of pumpkin as many reviewers had suggested, and I left out the raisins. The muffins were very moist and tasty. I didn't think you can tell that they're made with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very good! I use 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice. And 1/2 a bag of milk chocolate chip morsels. SO GOOD. Try it. Very easy. You can get 12 muffins out of one batch, but I like to double it and use the bigger can of pumpkin puree. Also, if you fill the cups right up to the edge (batter is a little stiff) then it mounds up to look like a perfect little muffin. I also tried to make a loaf out of this and it didn't work so good. Will stick with the muffins. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Loved this recipe - the muffin was so tender and light that you wouldn't even know it wasn't white flour! This recipe was so easy that my 2 year old daughter was able to help me with it and she and I devoured them afterwards. I loved the idea of soaking the raisins to make thm softer too, it really added a nice texture. Again, I made only a few changes out of necessity. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg b/c I didn't have the pumpkin pie spice, and I used spelt flour and pecans b/c that's what I had on hand. But the recipe is so easy that I decided to make 3 more batches and give them to neighbors as gifts! Thank you so much for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPENABAUER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I used a whole can of pumpkin and additional cinnamon. They came out great! These were a good way to add fiber to my preschooler's diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin M
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These were sooo good! This was perfect to have around as snacks and to grab for a quick breakfast. And they smelled amazing while baking :-9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States