Pumpkin Wheat Honey Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
awesome when following the general suggestions in the reviews. used craisins and sliced almonds, nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seal Cove, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Delightful! As in very light in texture for wheat & pleasant to taste! We separate the batter 3 ways & put butterscotch chips in 1/3, semi sweet chocolate in another & walnut & raisin in the last. ALL were yummy! Also increased pumpkin to 1 cup. Finally I made a mistake & used pumpkin pie mix pumpkin instead of 100% whole but it didn't matter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
These are so yummy. I added 1 cup of pumpkin and 1.5 teaspoons pumpkin spice, and subbed apple sauce for oil. They took much longer to cook for me, but are super moist and very tasty. Did not add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Delicious and healthy! I made several substitutions: used 1 cup of pumpkin instead of 3/4 cup, 1/2 cup unsweet. ap sauce instead of oil, 1/4 cup of quinoa flour instead of 1/4 ww flour, pecans instead of walnuts, agave syrup instead of honey (didn't have any on hand), no raisins, and halved the sugar amount. Turned out light tasty and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Like some others, I added a full cup of pumpkin and instead of allspice I added a tsp of cinnamon, a half tsp of ginger and a half tsp of nutmeg. I left out the raisins and added pecans. I made 6 large muffins instead of 12 so I had to bake them about 5 minutes longer. They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Ah-ma-zing! Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I do not eat wheat, but I substitute gluten-free flour for regular flour. These muffins turned out perfectly! My only complaint? They are TOO good! I've had 3 already!! I'm going to have to freeze them so that I don't finish the batch today! For those making a GF version: I also followed other reviewers' advice and put in 1 cup of pumpkin, applesauce instead of oil. Other than that, I used a cup-for-cup substitute of GF flour. Yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Very yummy! I used Splenda/brown sugar mix and applesauce instead of vegetable oil. I also used 1/2 cup quinoa flour in addition to one cup whole wheat flour since I had some, and 1/2 tsp more pumpkin pie spice than the recipe called for. Used other recommendations to use 1 cup pumpkin purée and filled cupcake tin to the top. So delicious warm and I don't feel horrible feeding them to my kids! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent! I did the 1/2 oil, 1/2 applesauce method plus i used 1 cup of pumpkin. They came out awesome!! I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homschlrmom
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This has worked well for me with gluten-free brown rice flour and added xanthum gum (3/4 tsp per cup of flour for quick breads). I also used agave nectar. Just love how moist they are. My husband who expects gluten-free to be dry did not know they were! I followed the recipe amounts with fresh squash (cushaw) and I thought they were fine with that amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogallala, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sunman, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Try chocolate! This muffin recipe is great with chocolate chips. Rather than the 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 nuts, I used a whole cup of chocolate chips. I never thought chocolate and pumpkin sounded good together and then I tried it at a party...yum! I came to this recipe with the specific hope of finding something I could modify for chocolate chips. :) Also, coconut oil in place of vegetable oil and maple syrup instead of honey both make great replacements. I decided to try them as they are the ingredients I keep on hand. Lastly, I've used flour and whole wheat flour. Both turn out well, just different. As would be expected, the whole wheat just has a heartier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States