Pumpkin Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake came out wonderful. Made this for thanksgiving and was gone pretty quick. I did mix a portion of the cake mix with the pumpkin mixture to avoid mushyness as another reviewer commented. Glad I did! For some reason the cake mix still looked powdery on top after cake was done. Is that normal?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used a sugar free chocolate cake mix, and mixed about a cup of it with the pumpkin mix then topped the rest only used 3/4 c sugar with the pumpkin and only about 5 tables spoons of butter, turned out good, kind of line a pumpkin flan with chocolate cake topping. was short on nuts so only used about a cup of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Smethport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
So easy and so delicious! I made this for my scrapbooking club and everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Yum! Outstanding dessert and I loved the use of the walnuts. I wouldn't changed anything about this dessert at all. The baking time was right on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
12/10 its definitely even better with a dollop of whipping cream. Also, i mix about 3/4 cup of the cake mix into the pumpkin mixture--I think it gets rid of that mushy texture the pumpkin otherwise tends to have. added pecans on top, yummy. matthew didn't like it but everyone else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
super good! i melted 1 stick of butter to put on top and i ended up with powdery cake mix still on top. i'm not sure how to eliminate that because i tried more butter. it is delicious anyway, so it still gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This cake is amazing! The pumpkin part is the consistency of a pumpkin pie with the amazing cookie/butter nut-type crunch on the top. I have received rave reviews at parties and my husband requests this dessert year round. I am 8 months pregnant and have been craving it, so I'm making it today in JULY! It will make you think of Fall with each bite. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I have made this cake several times for different occasions including Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter, and a friends welcome home party. Everyone always raves over it and asks for the recipe. I have found, however, that if you add about 1/3 the dry cake mix to the pumpkin mixture it comes out a little better. Other than that, the taste is amazing! My friends and family were super excited to have something other than pumpkin pie for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
NOT for bake sales (too soupy), so I'm having to keep this for myself (oh, poor me!) I mixed some of the cake mix in with the pumpkin, baked it longer than specified and it still wasn't of a consistency that could be cut into bars. I used pecans and it worked well, although I'm sure walnuts would be great. Will definitely pull this out at thanksgiving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an awesome cake. Nice flavour. Followed some of the advice on the reviews and turned out great. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snuggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Breslau, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States