Pumpkin Waffles with Apple-Cranberry Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I only made the waffles, not the relish. They stuck a little to the waffle iron, so let them cook a little longer after the light goes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Good idea, but needs more spice. I only made the waffles, so can't rate the relish. Used brown sugar instead of white and used mixture of all-purpose and white whole wheat flour. The main thing is that I doubled the spices (actually, quadrupled for a double recipe) and added Hershey's Cinnamon Chips. As written, I think the waffles would be very bland. Maybe that's why the relish is listed with it.?. I would defintely recommend at least doubling the spices. Made extra and froze them. We just pop them in the toaster on busy mornings. Kids love them. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The waffles and relish were very good. The pumpkin flavor was too mellow for us, but they held together fine. The relish was tasty, but a little more time-consuming than we'd usually do on a weekend. Very pretty though and festive. Grand Marnier and fresh cranberries were substituted for the OJ and dried cranberries. Turned out good. Thanks Amie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This waffle recipe was delicious! I skipped the fruit topping, but the waffles themselves were fantastic. Our grocery was out of pumpkin puree, so I had to use pie filling and just reduced the sugar and spice measurements to half. I also didn't have pastry flour, so I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 bread flour. Next time, I plan to reduce the oil to 1/3 C and increase the pumpkin puree to 2/3 C to reduce calories. Also, the servings on this are not accurate. I made 7 large waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I wish I could concur with other reviewers but I can't on this one. I followed the waffle recipe exactly. What I liked about this recipe was the use of WW pastry flour and pumpkin, and the spice seemed like a nice touch. In reality, I found them to be bland, very little pumpkin or spice flavor. They tasted very "eggy" to me. I needed more flour because the first few waffles were golden on the outside but not cooked in the middle. The cranberry relish is a unique touch, but couldn't make up for the waffles. I don't think I'll make this again as nice as idea as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent! I used just the Apple-Cranberry Relish at Thanksgiving and it was such a hit! I didn't alter the recipe at all except that I let the fruit sit until it soaked up the sauce. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceybug8806
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The apple-cranberry relish was my favorite part! It was so good, we just ate it with a spoon after the waffles/pancakes were gone! I tried to make waffles but they kept falling apart when I would take them out of my waffle maker. It's a new waffle maker, so maybe it's the cook and not the recipe. When eating the waffles alone I thought they were not going to be sweet enough, but they were the perfect flavor when mixed with the relish. I ended up making pancakes instead. This is going to be our Christmas morning breakfast for sure! All in all, a delicious recipe to add to my basket of tricks. Thanks for sharing Amie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceybug8806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a review of the waffles only, as I did not make the relish. Fabulous! Wonderful flavor, easy to make, very good texture. I made these for company, and they were very well received. What a nice breakfast for autumn! Next time I will serve with some sautéed apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made breakfast for dinner using this recipe and we loved all the components individually. I am not 100% sure they belong together because the pumpkin flavor is overshadowed by the relish. Both parts are outstanding on their own and I will make both again, just not necessarily together. Thanks Amie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States