Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was fabulous. The waffles were full of flavor and the apple cider sytup was out of this world good. Thank you so much for the recipe. We will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I definitely agree that the fabulously intense apple and cinnamon flavor will overwhelm the pumpkin waffles--and they are still freaking awesome!!! I actually had a less-than-my-favorite jug of apple cider, so I boiled it down by about a third to give it more oomph. Worked great. Might try 3/4tsp of cinnamon next time (and I'm a cinnamon junkie). I also want to say about the idea of the syrup overwhelming the pumpkin flavor--how much are we ever really tasting the pumpkin flavor of pumpkin breads anyway over the cinnamon, cloves, and ginger? Do you ever really find yourself saying "what a great squash flavor in that bread"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My 5 yr old son's favorite!! He tells everyone about the "yummy pumpkin waffles my mom makes for me". I freeze leftovers between sheets of wax/parchment paper and warm up in toaster for a before school breakfast treat. Tasty with just plain maple syrup - but if you have time, the apple cider syrup is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The girls loved it!!!!!! What a great way to start off fall making these for the kids in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was awesome! I added about 3 tbsp extra pumpkin, one apple finely chopped, and about 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. I also reduced ginger and allspice to 1/2 tsp. each. My entire family gobbled it up, even the picky 3 yr old. Lots of leftovers for freezing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is delicious, I added 1 tsp nutmeg to the spice mix, 1/4 cup white sugar to the dry ingredients and 1 tsp vanilla to the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
These were great! Made a few changes..added 2 TB sugar and 1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg to batter. Then to syrup added 1 TB Myers dark rum and 1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg. Also used boiled cider (1 TB per 3/4 cup as per KAF site). Concentrated flavor was excellent! Had to double syrup. One recipe was not enough for 10 large Belgium waffles the batter made in my All Clad waffle maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
The syrup was awesome and will be a new fall staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These are amazing! The apple cider syrup is what makes it for me. I love to make extra for regular pancakes later on. I have made this recipe for a long time, but was looking for a recipe that didn't require egg white beating, to save time. Couldn't find a better recipe, and today it occurred to me why. Adding pumpkin makes for a dense waffle, so you need to add the whipped egg whites to counteract that. That's what makes this recipe perfect. Also, if you want this waffle to taste more like pumpkin pie on its own, just add more sugar. The purpose of making them like this is that you are planning on pouring syrup all over them, so you don't want them to be overly-sweet to begin with. Love these, crave these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great! I used a can of pumpkin puree and a can of evaporated milk...no butter. Turned out perfect. Doubled in cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Potato Waffles

See how to make this genius savory recipe for waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States