Pumpkin Waffles with Apple Cider Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I can't eat wheat, so substituted whole spelt flour instead. The waffles were great and we loved the apple cider syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Fear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
We loved these! My son and I made them for his friends and they were a hit. We used pumpkin pie spice in place of the individual spices and doubled the amount of pumpkin. They turned out perfectly and smelled divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I thought these were good, my husband wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potterprincess500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Awesome waffles that whole family loved! I added 1/2 cup of extra milk- the batter was just too thick. It worked out great. I did use self- rising flour and no baking powder, which always works for pancakes and waffles. LOVED the syrup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great waffles, not too dense... just right! Syrup is excellent, but you need to at least double the syrup recipe. Some in family thought that the syrup could use less sugar, as it is very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
REVIEW ON APPLE CIDER SYRUP ONLY: I have no clue where I put my waffle maker so decided to just make the syrup with the 'Pumpkin Pancakes' recipe here on allrecipes. (also a great recipe) and it was GREAT. At first I thought the Apple Cider overpowered the sugar and it was too tart but after I added the butter it's just perfect! Only change I made was added a PINCH of nutmeg although I'm sure that made little difference. DO NOT leave this stuff on the stove to boil unattended because mine was thick enough for use almost immediately after it started to boil (Maybe 1 minute TOPS of boiling) and make sure to follow instructions and add the cornstarch in with the other dry ingredients, otherwise you will probably have clumps of cornstarch in your finished product and it probably wont thicken as well. Next time I will probably try adding thin chunks of fresh apple. GREAT SYRUP RECIPE. TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Followed recipe as written. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good! flavorful and definitely not dense. My kids (and I) ate a ton of them! I gave them one big waffle with syrup and then they kept getting more and eating them plain! Which for my syrup loving kids is saying a lot! I didn't make the syrup but will definitely make it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this recipe this morning for a special fall breakfast despite the Indian summer we've been having. I used whole wheat flour instead of white. I didn't have allspice so I substituted 1/2 t. cinnamon, 1/4 t. clove, 1/4 t. nutmeg. Make sure to melt the butter in a separate bowl. I tried to skip dirtying another bowl & melted the butter in the large bowl then added the pumpkin, egg yolks & milk but the butter hardened up from the cold milk. I recommend using an electric hand mixer for the egg whites, a lot easier than using a whisk. This was really, really good but a lot of work & a lot of cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
HUGE hit! I didn't make the syrup, but the waffles are amazing. My toddler loves them, and I like that there's a bit of nutrition in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States