Pumpkin Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We didn't care for this recipe at all. It is certainly not a cake - the filling is much too mushy to be called that. The topping is tasty, but it does not invert well - it just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
The texture of this "cake" is not what I at all expected. The pumpkin portion is not as firm as pumpkin pie, therefore the contrast between the crunchy crust (which was the only good part) and the squishy pumpkin was just too much to handle! I won't be making this ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Thumbs up on my initial test from the family! I did a gluten-free version, using Pamela's Gluten Free Vanilla Cake mix, which was around 21 oz instead of 18. It's a keeper, we'll be making it at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was a hit with the whole family. I mixed semi sweet chocolate chips into the cake mix. The family polished it off. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I made this for the first time last Thanksgiving.. everyone LOVED it! it's a nice twist on the regular pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I started making this recipe last thanksgiving and love it. I actually used a 15 oz can of pumpkin and it came out great. Highly recommended, pumpkin pie just ain't the same no more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I have been serving a very slightly different version of this recipe to family and friends for years. In my version: (1) I use the smaller can of pumpkin. (2) I use cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice (or allspice), and a 1/2tsp of powdered ginger. (3) I use regular whole milk instead of evaporated milk (though, I bet the evaporated is better, and I will try that next time) and...(4) I bake and serve the cake in a ceramic dish--no turning it out or inverting. Just remove it from the oven and put the whipped topping on after it cools and just before serving. In my opinion, this recipe is very "personalize-able." There are a lot of variations out there, but the basic recipe is the same in all of them. It kicks regular pumpkin pie in the patootie, and everyone will love you for making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Nix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was not at all enjoyable. Look was less than appetizing and though not terrible tasting wasn't good enough to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lothian, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is an excellent pumpkin dessert. I use about 1 cup of chopped pecans on top of the the dry cake mix just before I pour the melted butter on it. I also use the smaller can of pumpkin, but keep everything else the same. I saw this in a Southern Living Cookbook where they used the smaller can so I tried it. I loved it... I am a topping/crust liking person more so than filling and this was perfect. Very easy dessert and you will get rave reviews, as well as everyone wanting your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I gave this a try for Thanksgiving but everyone was hesitant to try it and instead went for traditional pumpkin pie. The pies were inedible due to the cook swapping sugar for salt by mistake, so everyone reluctantly tried the cake. The samples soon turned into huge slices and it was all gone in a flash. Not only did it save the day but everyone loved it even more than the pie. I got numerous requests for the recipe and was told it was now my dish to bring every year. Absolutely scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States