Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I am only giving this four stars because the orginal recipe was too bland for my taste. I added a few things: one can each of corn, black beans, and green chilies, about 2 tsp each of cumin and corriander, about 2 tbsp orange juice concentrate, about 1 1/2 tbsp honey, 2 bay leaves, more salt, about 2 cups of tomato juice, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. Of course, I did not add cheese or sour cream, but I beleive a dish should be able to stand on its own, with condiments only to enhance. This recipe is totally original, and I will definately make my version again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe to build on. I added black beans, corn, cumin an extra can of tomatoes and extra chili powder. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Definitely missing something... 3 stars as I had to tweak this recipe so much to achieve any flavor, however I loved the addition of the pumpkin! Good base to build on for personal chili preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I am always looking for new and different recipes, especially ones that incorporate veggies that you otherwise wouldn't eat a lot of, like pumpkin. I have made this a couple times and it is really good. I say good, because I have had to tweak it a little to my taste. For example, it was too thick for me so I added some more tomatoes, including the liquid, and some chicken broth. I also added some spices, like cumin, cilantro, and some more chili powder because it was a bit bland without it. All in all, it is very filling, but healthy meal that is not expensive or time consuming to make. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Great idea! I like my chili spicy so I only put in half the amount of pumpkin and added fresh cilantro, corn, jalapenos, and some extra cumin, cayenne pepper and chili powder. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
The base of the recipe was good - the pumpkin adds a nice rich flavor. However, I used the exact amount of seasoning recommended and I think it needs a little more spice. I will definitely make this again because the ingredients are super healthy, but I will add more spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
What do you do when you are saddled with dozens of jars of homecanned pumpkin (thanks, Mom!) and trying to watch your carbs? Try one really bizarre recipe! This one earns 5 stars for creativity. I didn't make it exactly as printed, so I can't testify accurately for the taste. However the idea alone was worthwhile. I left out onion and peppers (not my family's favorites) and substituted envelopes of chicken chili dry mix for the seasoning. It was VERY good. We will be eatting lots of this chili this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Found this recipe while scouring for ideas for a Halloween party. I made a double batch and took it and it was devoured! Amazing recipe that makes me feel really good about eating it! Absoloutely delicious and I'm reccomending it to everyone I know who's trying to eat healthier while not sacrificing taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I give this recipe 5 stars for the absolute genius of adding pumpkin to my chili!!! Hubbie and I LOVED it.. he insists that I make it again soon! However, the end-result was not b/c I followed the recipe exactly. Quite the contrary... I DID read the reviews thoroughly and used quite a few of them to make this top-notch chili a success!: 1) Add can of black beans, 2) Add can of corn, 3) Add 1 1/2 cans of diced tomatoes, 4)Add packet of taco seasoning, 5) Add 3x chili powder, 6) Add nearly a whole can of chicken broth (good for consistency and flavor), 7) Add 2 TBS worcestershire and 8) Add dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to REALLY bring out the complexity of the pumpkin in this chili. Absolutely delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is really good! The pumpkin is subtle - it just adds a creaminess and sweetness that works really well. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States