Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
We were blown away! Pumpkin is a well-kept secret! I served this chili to friends with fresh warm cornbread. We had seconds and enjoyed leftovers! I doctored it up and these simple additions made it taste like a gourmet recipe and gave it the depth of flavor I was hoping for: I added 2 cans White Beans drained and rinsed, 1 cup low sodium chicken broth, 1/2 smallest can tomato paste, 3 tsp "Better than Boullion", 1/2 can green chilies (not the hot kind--but smoky), a dash of allspice, 3 TBL Essence of Emeril, 1 TBL cumin, 2 TBL no salt spice blend (I love the Kirkland Costco brand organic 21 spice blend), and water to control the right thickness/thiness as it simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I took other reviewers' advice and added extra spices and beans. I also added a touch of chipotle paste and 1 small can of tomato sauce. I used leftover fresh pumpkin from Halloween that I baked and pureed as recommended by this site. The chili came out DELICIOUS - the pumpkin adds a subtle sweetness and a warm orange color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I was looking for healthy comfort food on a cold day. Love this recipe! I might add kidney beans next time to make it go further, but honestly, it really doesn't need it. I NEVER would have thought to add pureed pumpkin. What a great way to get your kids to eat veggies. I will definitely serve this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Stunningly wonderful. I had to add chicken broth to make it a consistency that we love for our chili. Without the broth it could have been eaten with a fork! I used garden tomatoes instead of canned and I added 2 cans of diced green chilis to suit our family taste. Will definitely make this a regular winter meal at our house. It's a superfood extravaganza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use my leftover pumpkin carvings in and this worked out great! I just cubed and steamed the pumpkin. You can mash it a little too. I also added in some corn, green chilies, black beans with some cumin and paprika. This turned out amazing and I will be making it again... in fact it may be my new Halloween pumpkin carving night tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was really tasty and easy! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This came out great! It is easy to tailor the recipe to suit your personal preferences. For example, I added a can of black beans, drained, and a couple handfuls of frozen corn. Definitely needs some chicken broth for desired consistency. I forgot to buy diced tomatoes, so I used an equivalent amount of salsa (drained). Added cumin and extra chili powder. At the end of cooking, squeezed in some fresh lime juice, and next time I will add some chopped cilantro for color and flavor. Even my BF, who doesn't care for traditional beef-kidney bean chili, loved this turkey version. He was eating it right from the pot after I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Just made this for a potluck Halloween Party - no leftovers! It was a bit bland so I added flavors to enhance the pumpkin - a little allspice and a little bit of ground cloves. Added also cayenne pepper because you need a little bit of a bite of spicy hot. One more thing I added that really brought all the flavors together, because it was thick and I didn't have chicken broth... a bottle of pumpkin beer! You definitely need to taste, taste and taste again to adjust to your liking, but definitely DEEElicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
good when you add the sour cream & cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I like the creativeness of this recipie, its a great base for something completely different and delicious. The original recipie was a bit bland I thought, so I added 1 tbs garlic granuales, 2 tbs of chili powder, 1 1/2 tbs of basil and added them in before the liquid to the cooking meat and veg. to cook for about 5 mins before adding the rest of the wet ingredients. I also used about 4 cloves of garlic and I had doubled the recipie. I also added mushrooms and Kidney beans for the extra fiber. Served with fresh bread and creme fresh and low fat gratted chedar. Over-all, its definitely a keeper and it was very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States