Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was tasty. The pumpkin seems to give it a thickness that is really interesting and different. Worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
In the end I really did like this/is a keeper but gets a 3 because I made so many changes from the original. I give a 5 for perfect as is, 4 for minor changes, 3 for lots of changes.Used a red pepper just because that is what I had on hand/that does not really affect the flavor much though. The spices are another story: as is this is bland and tastes too much like just pumpkin.I doubled the garlic (2 cloves), increased pinch of salt to 1/2 tsp and added 1/4tsp of red pepper flakes and 1 1/2 tsp of cumin. Pumpkin and cumin make a nice combo and tastes more chili like. After that the flavor was good but the texture was too thick and added 1 c of chicken broth to get it too the right consistency.I added a can of black beans just because I like beans in my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Used 2 tablespoons of chili powder, 2 tsp each of red pepper flakes, turmeric and coriander and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Pretty good, but a little too mild for us - needed lots more seasoning. That's why I gave it a 4. If you add more seasoning, it'd get a 5. Very easy. I tried to follow the directions exactly, except I used about 15 ounces of Mild Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I don't like tomatoes chunks, so I blended it before adding it. I also immediately added about 5 cloves garlic because we like it. And, I semi-blended the peppers and onions so the flavor permeated the turkey well, since my husband doesn't like turkey. When it was done, I felt it was too mild. So, I added a lot more chili powder, pepper, cumin, coriander, and a touch of red pepper. Plus I added more salt. My husband actually liked it! A first for turkey. We put it on tortillas and topped it with a lettuce mix, kale, pepper jack cheese or cheddar cheese, and avacado. We will definitely make this again. I love it that the pumpkin adds nutrients and fiber. We plan to make it and dehydrate it to use on a backpacking trip. Tortillas travel well, as does hard cheese. So, this will be good! I will try it with lime on the leftovers. Plan to also try substituting beans for the turkey to accommodate our vegetarian friends and our desire to eat less meat. May also just add beans and kale or spinach to make the kind of chili we usually have with crackers. And, I will probably use medium Rotel next time for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Awesome!! I definitely will make this again. This is a great healthy version of chili. The only change is that a used orange bell peppers instead of green. Not a fan of the green pepper. Also I had some black beans left over so I put that in the chili too. So delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I don't usually like chili but this was really good. Kind of wish it had beans just for extra nutrition but I think it would taste funny. I used beef b/c the store was out of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
5 stars I made this yesterday and served it to guests, everyone wants the recipe, it is delish. I didn't have turkey so I used roughly chopped skinless thighs. I added a can of chicken broth, didin't serve cheese or sour cream, just a bowl of chopped cilantro. I added a little thyme and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not much taste. I'm going to modify this by adding chili seasoning, not just powder, and I would add mushrooms. Don't think it needs sour cream, but cheddar cheese is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula DiBacco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Delicious and easy, though I usually increase the spicing. Simple to make vegan, too; just replace the turkey with about two cans of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Excellent! Kids even gobbled this up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States