Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was a great recipe! My family loved it. The only thing that I changed was I used 3 cloves of garlic...by mistake and 1 tablespoon of chili powder (we aren't a spicy family) and 3\4 of a small can of chicken broth, just to thin it, but it was still thick....if that makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Added kidney beans, corn, extra pumpkin, tomatoes and a bit more spice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was much better than I was expecting. I followed other reviewers and added a can of light chicken broth and a can of beans (white). I happened to have a pkt of Durkee white chicken chili seasoning on hand so I used that for spice. It smelled and looked wonderful while cooking and I ended up letting it simmer on low for about 3 hrs on the stove. Normally I'd use my crockpot but it disappeared. It's a mild chili but easy to spice up to individual tastes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is sooo good! I added about 2 cups of black beans and it was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I was very curious to try this because the pumpkin addition sounded really unusual. I really enjoyed it and was surprised how well the flavors blended. I would recommend this if you want to try something out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was tasty. The pumpkin seems to give it a thickness that is really interesting and different. Worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
In the end I really did like this/is a keeper but gets a 3 because I made so many changes from the original. I give a 5 for perfect as is, 4 for minor changes, 3 for lots of changes.Used a red pepper just because that is what I had on hand/that does not really affect the flavor much though. The spices are another story: as is this is bland and tastes too much like just pumpkin.I doubled the garlic (2 cloves), increased pinch of salt to 1/2 tsp and added 1/4tsp of red pepper flakes and 1 1/2 tsp of cumin. Pumpkin and cumin make a nice combo and tastes more chili like. After that the flavor was good but the texture was too thick and added 1 c of chicken broth to get it too the right consistency.I added a can of black beans just because I like beans in my chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Used 2 tablespoons of chili powder, 2 tsp each of red pepper flakes, turmeric and coriander and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Pretty good, but a little too mild for us - needed lots more seasoning. That's why I gave it a 4. If you add more seasoning, it'd get a 5. Very easy. I tried to follow the directions exactly, except I used about 15 ounces of Mild Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I don't like tomatoes chunks, so I blended it before adding it. I also immediately added about 5 cloves garlic because we like it. And, I semi-blended the peppers and onions so the flavor permeated the turkey well, since my husband doesn't like turkey. When it was done, I felt it was too mild. So, I added a lot more chili powder, pepper, cumin, coriander, and a touch of red pepper. Plus I added more salt. My husband actually liked it! A first for turkey. We put it on tortillas and topped it with a lettuce mix, kale, pepper jack cheese or cheddar cheese, and avacado. We will definitely make this again. I love it that the pumpkin adds nutrients and fiber. We plan to make it and dehydrate it to use on a backpacking trip. Tortillas travel well, as does hard cheese. So, this will be good! I will try it with lime on the leftovers. Plan to also try substituting beans for the turkey to accommodate our vegetarian friends and our desire to eat less meat. May also just add beans and kale or spinach to make the kind of chili we usually have with crackers. And, I will probably use medium Rotel next time for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Awesome!! I definitely will make this again. This is a great healthy version of chili. The only change is that a used orange bell peppers instead of green. Not a fan of the green pepper. Also I had some black beans left over so I put that in the chili too. So delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States