Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I was very excited to try this, but unfortunately it left something to be desired. It's very hearty, but the pumpkin flavor doesn't come through at all. I added beans, cumin, extra garlic, onion and even a little taco seasoning, and it was still bland. The only explanation I can come up with is that the pumpkin masks all other flavor. Maybe a good starter, but you'll have to play with this recipe to make it a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
THIS WAS AWESOME, just what we were looking for on a cold day. We added black beans and corn, cuz it's not a chili until it has beans! We followed some other recommendations: "one can each of corn, black beans, and green chilies, about 2 tsp each of cumin and corriander, about 2 tbsp orange juice concentrate, about 1 1/2 tbsp honey, 2 bay leaves, more salt, about 2 cups of tomato juice, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Wigginton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A good recipe, however I had to do some tweaking. This recipe is a little bland. Here is what I did: I used one whole onion chopped it up, and sautéed it in 2 tbsp of salt free butter (real butter). I replaced the green and yellow bell peppers with a 16 oz bag of Classic Vegetable Mix by Birds Eye. I used 1.5 lbs of ground turkey (I recommend at least 2 lbs). I used 1 (14.5 ounce) can of diced tomatoes with fennel and red peppers. I used 2 (15 oz) can of pumpkin purée. I replaced the chile powder with 1 (1.2 oz) package of chile seasoning. I added pepper. Now...mix everything together. Taste (it will be bland). Add the DESIRED amount of salt until the right flavor is reached. (I took a container of salt and gently added salt, mixed, then tasted and kept repeating until the desired taste was reached).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was great. I added 2 cans of navy beans, and 1 tablespoon of cumin and ancho chili. I also let it cook for about 2 hours in my dutch oven. To finish I topped with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is quite bland if you expect a bit of a kick and great flavor from your chili. I decided that I liked the base of this recipe and have since modified it to suit my taste! I switched out the turkey for ground italian sausage(mild), 1 whole green pepper and 1 whole yellow pepper, 1 can and a 1/4 of a can of pumpkin(1/4 more only because i had extra left over, but I think it works better with more), cubed up into a little less than an inch uncooked sweet potato. Added about a cup of chicken broth and a cup of water. Cooked on low for 3 or 4 hours and bumped it up to high for about an hour- or until sweet potatoes are cooked through. Everything else I left as is. This was far more flavorful and very filling! Ends up looking like a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was a great recipe! My family loved it. The only thing that I changed was I used 3 cloves of garlic...by mistake and 1 tablespoon of chili powder (we aren't a spicy family) and 3\4 of a small can of chicken broth, just to thin it, but it was still thick....if that makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Added kidney beans, corn, extra pumpkin, tomatoes and a bit more spice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was much better than I was expecting. I followed other reviewers and added a can of light chicken broth and a can of beans (white). I happened to have a pkt of Durkee white chicken chili seasoning on hand so I used that for spice. It smelled and looked wonderful while cooking and I ended up letting it simmer on low for about 3 hrs on the stove. Normally I'd use my crockpot but it disappeared. It's a mild chili but easy to spice up to individual tastes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is sooo good! I added about 2 cups of black beans and it was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I was very curious to try this because the pumpkin addition sounded really unusual. I really enjoyed it and was surprised how well the flavors blended. I would recommend this if you want to try something out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States