Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I was very excited to try this, but unfortunately it left something to be desired. It's very hearty, but the pumpkin flavor doesn't come through at all. I added beans, cumin, extra garlic, onion and even a little taco seasoning, and it was still bland. The only explanation I can come up with is that the pumpkin masks all other flavor. Maybe a good starter, but you'll have to play with this recipe to make it a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
THIS WAS AWESOME, just what we were looking for on a cold day. We added black beans and corn, cuz it's not a chili until it has beans! We followed some other recommendations: "one can each of corn, black beans, and green chilies, about 2 tsp each of cumin and corriander, about 2 tbsp orange juice concentrate, about 1 1/2 tbsp honey, 2 bay leaves, more salt, about 2 cups of tomato juice, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Wigginton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A good recipe, however I had to do some tweaking. This recipe is a little bland. Here is what I did: I used one whole onion chopped it up, and sautéed it in 2 tbsp of salt free butter (real butter). I replaced the green and yellow bell peppers with a 16 oz bag of Classic Vegetable Mix by Birds Eye. I used 1.5 lbs of ground turkey (I recommend at least 2 lbs). I used 1 (14.5 ounce) can of diced tomatoes with fennel and red peppers. I used 2 (15 oz) can of pumpkin purée. I replaced the chile powder with 1 (1.2 oz) package of chile seasoning. I added pepper. Now...mix everything together. Taste (it will be bland). Add the DESIRED amount of salt until the right flavor is reached. (I took a container of salt and gently added salt, mixed, then tasted and kept repeating until the desired taste was reached).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was great. I added 2 cans of navy beans, and 1 tablespoon of cumin and ancho chili. I also let it cook for about 2 hours in my dutch oven. To finish I topped with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is quite bland if you expect a bit of a kick and great flavor from your chili. I decided that I liked the base of this recipe and have since modified it to suit my taste! I switched out the turkey for ground italian sausage(mild), 1 whole green pepper and 1 whole yellow pepper, 1 can and a 1/4 of a can of pumpkin(1/4 more only because i had extra left over, but I think it works better with more), cubed up into a little less than an inch uncooked sweet potato. Added about a cup of chicken broth and a cup of water. Cooked on low for 3 or 4 hours and bumped it up to high for about an hour- or until sweet potatoes are cooked through. Everything else I left as is. This was far more flavorful and very filling! Ends up looking like a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was a great recipe! My family loved it. The only thing that I changed was I used 3 cloves of garlic...by mistake and 1 tablespoon of chili powder (we aren't a spicy family) and 3\4 of a small can of chicken broth, just to thin it, but it was still thick....if that makes sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Added kidney beans, corn, extra pumpkin, tomatoes and a bit more spice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was much better than I was expecting. I followed other reviewers and added a can of light chicken broth and a can of beans (white). I happened to have a pkt of Durkee white chicken chili seasoning on hand so I used that for spice. It smelled and looked wonderful while cooking and I ended up letting it simmer on low for about 3 hrs on the stove. Normally I'd use my crockpot but it disappeared. It's a mild chili but easy to spice up to individual tastes. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is sooo good! I added about 2 cups of black beans and it was delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I was very curious to try this because the pumpkin addition sounded really unusual. I really enjoyed it and was surprised how well the flavors blended. I would recommend this if you want to try something out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States