Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Really like the idea of pumpkin in this chili. It gave it a nice texture and upped the nutritional value. I did add more traditional chili spices as it was really bland with the listed measure of spices in the recipe. We like our chili spicy. Is a great recipe to start with and tweak it to suit your own tastes. Thanks for a great recipe. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kraiz
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have always been a big pumpkin fan and a big chili fan, so I thought why not put the two together. After finding this recipe I fell in love. I decided to find many other recipes like this and make my own version. However, the idea of pumpkin and the gentle taste of turkey was a perfect combination. I spruced this recipe up a bit though: I added 3 slices of bacon, extra pumpkin puree, extra chili powder, cumin, smoked chipotle chile powder and allspice (I wish I had some Pumpkin Pie spice to add). The recipe was phenomenal with cheddar cheese, just flows so nicely with the turkey and bacon. I would make it with more of a pumpkin flavor if I make it again. I am giving this a four because it needed to be tweaked to make it taste like a authentic chili but make you say "Hey I think there is pumpkin in this!" lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good but the consistency was a bit thick so I thinned it out with some chicken broth. Great way to add veggies to a dish. Made this for a Halloween party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wow, wasn't sure I would like it. It was fantastic and tasty! My hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicious! I did a double take when I saw that this chili recipe didn't have any beans, but the pumpkin is so hearty that you don't even miss them. The next time I make this recipe I'm going to experiment with adding more ingredients to make the batch stretch even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Definitely a good base, but made some changes. First, I sautéed the ground turkey, removed, then added onion and peppers. Once softened, I added garlic and then turkey again. Then added spices...chili powder, cumin and coriander. (add more chili powder than recipe calls for). I also added a can of black beans. Pumpkin adds creaminess but not overpowering. Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is an excellent base for chili!! I added a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of corn, 3tbsp of chili powder, about 1/2 tsp of cumin, a splash of vegetable broth, a dash of nutmeg, and some chopped cilantro. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Our pastor's wife made this recipe and sent me here to grab the recipe! This recipe won her 1st place in our chilli cook off and she's a vegetarian! very delicious, must try this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
With reviewer suggestions such as corn, black beans, more tomatoes and additional spices, it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abh91c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wonderful! Couldn't really taste the pumpkin, but that's okay. And I copied the add-ins another reviewer posted. Delicious recipe though, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States