Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I'm not a big fan of chili, but this recipe was very good. I did add more chili powder and cumin, as well as a well drained can of black beans (for more fiber). The pumpkin helped thicken it. I'll definitely make this again. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe as written is really bland and thick as concrete. I doubled the chili powder, added a bay leaf, 1 tbsp cumin, 1 tbsp tandoori seasoning, 2 cups garlic chicken broth, & 1 can black beans. That made it taste pretty good. Oh, I didn't garnish with cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Took the advice of some of the reviews and used this recipe as only a base. To the original recipe I added jalapeno peppers, fresh diced tomato and fresh mashed pumpkin instead of canned, black beans, crushed red pepper, cumin, chili pepper, annatto, cayenne pepper, a little bit of vinegar and lemon juice. Amazing and spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipes! Next time I will add more onions and a chile. The recipe says a dash of salt but I used more like a tablespoon. That will keep it from being bland. Also used Fage Greek plain yogurt to cut out some of the fat of sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a fantastic chili recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of chilies, corn and black beans, and they definitely added some depth and flavor. I also put in a bit more chili powder than what was called for in the recipe, because we like our chili extra spicy. Overall though, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It's a good start but it definitely needed something added to it. I always assume when I see a highly rated recipe that people are actually rating this recipe not there amended version but I've come to realize that's not true. Next time I make this I will add corn and black beans, nutmeg and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The foundations of the recipe are good, but it required a lot of playing with seasoning. As written, the chili was very bland. I will make it again, though, adding more chili powder, some cumin and chipotle chili powder, a shot of cider vinegar, a bit of sugar and more salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for a chili cook off, and everyone thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
...was not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is now my go-to chili recipe, but I do have to add things to it for flavor, thus why it only gets 4 stars for as it is written. I add a can of beans, garlic powder, corn, and triple the amount of chili powder. I love that its hearty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States