Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Good recipe. I added chili beans. I like the body that the pumpkin gives. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
this was great, like everyone said a good "start" i doubled the chili, added navy beans, used red and yellow peppers and added sweet corn, plus used the whole can of pumpkin. It was very satisfying. I also added red pepper flakes. Still ended up being a very subtle, yet spicy sweet turkey chili, very enjoyable. the cheddar cheese on top was suprisingly good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I don't get this recipe. Using the original recipe resulted in something I would consider inedible, not good- not spicy- bad consistency. I ended up adding black beans, corn, brown ale and tons more seasoning. In the end, it ended up tasting almost exactly like a traditional chili because of all the doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kred
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This chili was okay. If you are expecting a traditional chili with pumpkin flavor this is not for you. This makes a very thick pumpkin soup (think pumpkin bisque) that happens to contain turkey, veggies, and chili seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Really like the idea of pumpkin in this chili. It gave it a nice texture and upped the nutritional value. I did add more traditional chili spices as it was really bland with the listed measure of spices in the recipe. We like our chili spicy. Is a great recipe to start with and tweak it to suit your own tastes. Thanks for a great recipe. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kraiz
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have always been a big pumpkin fan and a big chili fan, so I thought why not put the two together. After finding this recipe I fell in love. I decided to find many other recipes like this and make my own version. However, the idea of pumpkin and the gentle taste of turkey was a perfect combination. I spruced this recipe up a bit though: I added 3 slices of bacon, extra pumpkin puree, extra chili powder, cumin, smoked chipotle chile powder and allspice (I wish I had some Pumpkin Pie spice to add). The recipe was phenomenal with cheddar cheese, just flows so nicely with the turkey and bacon. I would make it with more of a pumpkin flavor if I make it again. I am giving this a four because it needed to be tweaked to make it taste like a authentic chili but make you say "Hey I think there is pumpkin in this!" lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good but the consistency was a bit thick so I thinned it out with some chicken broth. Great way to add veggies to a dish. Made this for a Halloween party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wow, wasn't sure I would like it. It was fantastic and tasty! My hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicious! I did a double take when I saw that this chili recipe didn't have any beans, but the pumpkin is so hearty that you don't even miss them. The next time I make this recipe I'm going to experiment with adding more ingredients to make the batch stretch even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Definitely a good base, but made some changes. First, I sautéed the ground turkey, removed, then added onion and peppers. Once softened, I added garlic and then turkey again. Then added spices...chili powder, cumin and coriander. (add more chili powder than recipe calls for). I also added a can of black beans. Pumpkin adds creaminess but not overpowering. Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States