Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It's a good start but it definitely needed something added to it. I always assume when I see a highly rated recipe that people are actually rating this recipe not there amended version but I've come to realize that's not true. Next time I make this I will add corn and black beans, nutmeg and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The foundations of the recipe are good, but it required a lot of playing with seasoning. As written, the chili was very bland. I will make it again, though, adding more chili powder, some cumin and chipotle chili powder, a shot of cider vinegar, a bit of sugar and more salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for a chili cook off, and everyone thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
...was not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is now my go-to chili recipe, but I do have to add things to it for flavor, thus why it only gets 4 stars for as it is written. I add a can of beans, garlic powder, corn, and triple the amount of chili powder. I love that its hearty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was such a delicious recipe! Kudos to the author! I made some alterations per comments. I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes and and doubled the amount. I added one can black beans, one cup turkey stock, and one cup shredded carrots (which added a veggie without changing the taste). Instead of ground turkey, I used leftover turkey/pork sausage I had on hand, and this made it REALLY tasty. For spices, I used 1.5 tbsp red cayenne pepper instead of chili powder, .5 tsp black pepper, 2 tbsp cumin & coriander, 2 bay leaves, 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg. Served over baked sweet potato with a sprinkling of mexican cheese mix. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I love this, as a base recipe, and especially the addition of pumpkin! This has become a regular meal in our home. I think I can only fairly give it 4 stars, as I've altered to personal taste, and always do it in my crock pot. The additions I've made are: 1 can each of kidney and black beans, sliced mushrooms, cumin, parsley, cayenne and red pepper flakes, and a couple tbs of brown sugar. Set it in my crock pot for 8 hrs-and yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The missing ingredient to this recipe is BROWN SUGAR! Add a few Tablespoons and it goes from bland to amazing. I also threw in some pumpkin pie spice. My husband loves it that way. For myself, I added extra chili powder and some crushed red peppers because I like my chili with more of a kick. My husband took his leftovers to work and his coworkers begged me to make more for them! I made this about a half dozen times during this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was so simple and DELICIOUS! We served it to our dinner guests and they loved it as well. I also added a chopped jalapeno to give it an extra kick and a can of kidney beans to bulk it up just a bit more. Other than that, the recipe was perfect! I didn't need to build on it at all :) A super win and will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
You don't taste the pumpkin at all but it adds lots of vitamins and fiber to the dish. Your family will never know! I added some cumin and a little extra chili powder. You can easily adjust spices to your taste. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States