Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Being fall right now I figured this recipe would be perfect and it came out very nicely. Having read most of the reviews I decided to add some additional ingrediences as well. First off I used ground beef because that's what I had at home. I added one can of kidney beans, one cup of frozen corn, one cup of chickenbroth and instead of adding all kinds of individual spices I used Taco Seasoning Mix. Other than that I followed the recipe. It's a great fall recipe that's hearty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Absolutely fabulous!! I did add another can of tomatoes, no juice and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I was so excited to find this recipe because I luv pumpkin in savory dishes. I agree with others, its bland as is. Great base recipe, but needs more. I added chicken broth, cumin,franks red hot and some brown sugar, not a lot of brown sugar, about 3 tablespoons. It really complimented the punch of the extra hot sauce in the chili, and suits our taste. I also added a can of white kidney beans. As with most chilis you need to flavor to your personal taste, this is a great recipe to do that with. My over all impression decent recipe when made exact, fantastic when you change the recipe to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Delish! Took advice from baby bunnies to add more spice. Kids liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I like this chili with a pumpkin base instead of a tomato base. However, like many of the other reviews commented it is very bland in my opinion. I added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and a cup of chicken stock to add more to the base of the chili. Then in addition to 2 Tblsp of chili powder I added 1 1/2 Tblsp of Southwest Chipotle Ms. Dash. Instead of using all the cut up bell peppers I just threw in a cas of original rotel as well. My family loved it and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I'm giving this four stars because it's an excellent base recipe, but it definitely needs some little extras for flavor and personal taste. As my base recipe, I used: 2 cups pure pumpkin puree, 1/2 cup chicken broth, 2 cans diced tomatoes with jalapenos, and 1lb ground lean beef (just what I had on hand). I added 1/2 diced onion, 1 diced yellow pepper, and 1 diced orange pepper. For seasoning, I added chili powder, cumin, coriander, chipotle, red pepper flakes, 2 bay leaves, brown sugar, and salt and pepper. I couldn't even tell you the amounts, I just added pinches in until I was satisfied with the flavor. I loved the texture of this chili, the pumpkin gave it a beautiful light silky creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganjewel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Good Good...I used beef and turkey...turned out great! Usually make reg chili and try different chilis and make in crock pots..and everyone loved this chili, even one who dont like pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I love pumpkin but I needed a different way of using it besides making pies. I came across this recipe and thought how strange to use pumpkin in chili but what the heck I will try it. I read the reviews and took the advice and tweak it by adding black beans, corn red bell pepper, orange bell pepper,(you can just use 1/2 of orange & red bell peppers) 2 cups of spicy tomato juice, more chili powder, corriander, cumin, (1 tsp each) 1 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp allspice, bay leaves and honey to taste. It turned out great!! The kids loved it. My son likes it spicier my daughter and I like it on the sweet side. With this recipe you can do either just by adjusting the amount of chili powder and the honey. Then I made this for a potluck and I bet 8 or 9 ppl asked for the recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used the suggestions of the reviewers (sorted by most helpful) and it came out great! I pureed the tomatoes first though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriamG
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great simple recipe. It was the first thing gone at the pumpkin carving party. It was a hit with adults and kids. I might step it up with some heat next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States