Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
What do you do when you are saddled with dozens of jars of homecanned pumpkin (thanks, Mom!) and trying to watch your carbs? Try one really bizarre recipe! This one earns 5 stars for creativity. I didn't make it exactly as printed, so I can't testify accurately for the taste. However the idea alone was worthwhile. I left out onion and peppers (not my family's favorites) and substituted envelopes of chicken chili dry mix for the seasoning. It was VERY good. We will be eatting lots of this chili this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is really good! The pumpkin is subtle - it just adds a creaminess and sweetness that works really well. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Found this recipe while scouring for ideas for a Halloween party. I made a double batch and took it and it was devoured! Amazing recipe that makes me feel really good about eating it! Absoloutely delicious and I'm reccomending it to everyone I know who's trying to eat healthier while not sacrificing taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Great idea! I like my chili spicy so I only put in half the amount of pumpkin and added fresh cilantro, corn, jalapenos, and some extra cumin, cayenne pepper and chili powder. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was excellent, especially if you spice it up a bit (just be creative with your spice rack). Like an earlier poster, I have recommended it to others. Delicious, quick and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I made this with ground chicken and it turned out great. Although my husband and I prefer more spice, this was the right amount to please our kids. This is a keeper in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Yummy! Pumpkin is subtle, but nice touch. To spice it up a little, added a dash of cayenne and few dashes of hot sauce. Used all green pepper and added a can of pinto beans and 1C frozen corn to give it more body. Delicious with the sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe to build on. I added black beans, corn, cumin an extra can of tomatoes and extra chili powder. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Yum! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly (except for adding a little cumin) because I've never made chili before. It came out quite good. Next time I will use some fresh tomatoes instead of canned. It's very filling and can stand alone with cheese or sour cream. The pumpkin is subtle, but not completely lost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was creepy was MAN was it good. I didnt think Id like it but Im always up for something new and who would know it was even pumpkin!!!! Id love to make this for my relatives and not tell them its pumpkin until they are finished - they'd never ever know. I threw in some cayanne and cumin to taste - great recipe - husband LOVED it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 749) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States