Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
What do you do when you are saddled with dozens of jars of homecanned pumpkin (thanks, Mom!) and trying to watch your carbs? Try one really bizarre recipe! This one earns 5 stars for creativity. I didn't make it exactly as printed, so I can't testify accurately for the taste. However the idea alone was worthwhile. I left out onion and peppers (not my family's favorites) and substituted envelopes of chicken chili dry mix for the seasoning. It was VERY good. We will be eatting lots of this chili this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This is really good! The pumpkin is subtle - it just adds a creaminess and sweetness that works really well. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Found this recipe while scouring for ideas for a Halloween party. I made a double batch and took it and it was devoured! Amazing recipe that makes me feel really good about eating it! Absoloutely delicious and I'm reccomending it to everyone I know who's trying to eat healthier while not sacrificing taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
The base of the recipe was good - the pumpkin adds a nice rich flavor. However, I used the exact amount of seasoning recommended and I think it needs a little more spice. I will definitely make this again because the ingredients are super healthy, but I will add more spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Great idea! I like my chili spicy so I only put in half the amount of pumpkin and added fresh cilantro, corn, jalapenos, and some extra cumin, cayenne pepper and chili powder. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was excellent, especially if you spice it up a bit (just be creative with your spice rack). Like an earlier poster, I have recommended it to others. Delicious, quick and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I made this with ground chicken and it turned out great. Although my husband and I prefer more spice, this was the right amount to please our kids. This is a keeper in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Yummy! Pumpkin is subtle, but nice touch. To spice it up a little, added a dash of cayenne and few dashes of hot sauce. Used all green pepper and added a can of pinto beans and 1C frozen corn to give it more body. Delicious with the sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This is a great recipe to build on. I added black beans, corn, cumin an extra can of tomatoes and extra chili powder. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I am only giving this four stars because the orginal recipe was too bland for my taste. I added a few things: one can each of corn, black beans, and green chilies, about 2 tsp each of cumin and corriander, about 2 tbsp orange juice concentrate, about 1 1/2 tbsp honey, 2 bay leaves, more salt, about 2 cups of tomato juice, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. Of course, I did not add cheese or sour cream, but I beleive a dish should be able to stand on its own, with condiments only to enhance. This recipe is totally original, and I will definately make my version again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States