Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Really like the idea of pumpkin in this chili. It gave it a nice texture and upped the nutritional value. I did add more traditional chili spices as it was really bland with the listed measure of spices in the recipe. We like our chili spicy. Is a great recipe to start with and tweak it to suit your own tastes. Thanks for a great recipe. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kraiz
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have always been a big pumpkin fan and a big chili fan, so I thought why not put the two together. After finding this recipe I fell in love. I decided to find many other recipes like this and make my own version. However, the idea of pumpkin and the gentle taste of turkey was a perfect combination. I spruced this recipe up a bit though: I added 3 slices of bacon, extra pumpkin puree, extra chili powder, cumin, smoked chipotle chile powder and allspice (I wish I had some Pumpkin Pie spice to add). The recipe was phenomenal with cheddar cheese, just flows so nicely with the turkey and bacon. I would make it with more of a pumpkin flavor if I make it again. I am giving this a four because it needed to be tweaked to make it taste like a authentic chili but make you say "Hey I think there is pumpkin in this!" lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good but the consistency was a bit thick so I thinned it out with some chicken broth. Great way to add veggies to a dish. Made this for a Halloween party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wow, wasn't sure I would like it. It was fantastic and tasty! My hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicious! I did a double take when I saw that this chili recipe didn't have any beans, but the pumpkin is so hearty that you don't even miss them. The next time I make this recipe I'm going to experiment with adding more ingredients to make the batch stretch even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Definitely a good base, but made some changes. First, I sautéed the ground turkey, removed, then added onion and peppers. Once softened, I added garlic and then turkey again. Then added spices...chili powder, cumin and coriander. (add more chili powder than recipe calls for). I also added a can of black beans. Pumpkin adds creaminess but not overpowering. Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is an excellent base for chili!! I added a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of corn, 3tbsp of chili powder, about 1/2 tsp of cumin, a splash of vegetable broth, a dash of nutmeg, and some chopped cilantro. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Our pastor's wife made this recipe and sent me here to grab the recipe! This recipe won her 1st place in our chilli cook off and she's a vegetarian! very delicious, must try this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
With reviewer suggestions such as corn, black beans, more tomatoes and additional spices, it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abh91c

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wonderful! Couldn't really taste the pumpkin, but that's okay. And I copied the add-ins another reviewer posted. Delicious recipe though, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States