Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I love this, as a base recipe, and especially the addition of pumpkin! This has become a regular meal in our home. I think I can only fairly give it 4 stars, as I've altered to personal taste, and always do it in my crock pot. The additions I've made are: 1 can each of kidney and black beans, sliced mushrooms, cumin, parsley, cayenne and red pepper flakes, and a couple tbs of brown sugar. Set it in my crock pot for 8 hrs-and yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The missing ingredient to this recipe is BROWN SUGAR! Add a few Tablespoons and it goes from bland to amazing. I also threw in some pumpkin pie spice. My husband loves it that way. For myself, I added extra chili powder and some crushed red peppers because I like my chili with more of a kick. My husband took his leftovers to work and his coworkers begged me to make more for them! I made this about a half dozen times during this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was so simple and DELICIOUS! We served it to our dinner guests and they loved it as well. I also added a chopped jalapeno to give it an extra kick and a can of kidney beans to bulk it up just a bit more. Other than that, the recipe was perfect! I didn't need to build on it at all :) A super win and will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
You don't taste the pumpkin at all but it adds lots of vitamins and fiber to the dish. Your family will never know! I added some cumin and a little extra chili powder. You can easily adjust spices to your taste. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This chili is new, interesting, and quite tasty. I liked the use of pumpkin, and the peppers gave it a nice, sweet touch. I added about a cup of corn, a can of black beans, some cumin, red pepper flakes, used a 15 oz. can pumpkin, and added extra chili powder. I also use one can of crushed tomatoes and 1/2 can of stewed tomatoes, and orange peppers instead of the green. It was really great garnished with cilantro leaves. Thanks for the different, fall recipe that all of my family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Good recipe. I added chili beans. I like the body that the pumpkin gives. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
this was great, like everyone said a good "start" i doubled the chili, added navy beans, used red and yellow peppers and added sweet corn, plus used the whole can of pumpkin. It was very satisfying. I also added red pepper flakes. Still ended up being a very subtle, yet spicy sweet turkey chili, very enjoyable. the cheddar cheese on top was suprisingly good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I don't get this recipe. Using the original recipe resulted in something I would consider inedible, not good- not spicy- bad consistency. I ended up adding black beans, corn, brown ale and tons more seasoning. In the end, it ended up tasting almost exactly like a traditional chili because of all the doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kred
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This chili was okay. If you are expecting a traditional chili with pumpkin flavor this is not for you. This makes a very thick pumpkin soup (think pumpkin bisque) that happens to contain turkey, veggies, and chili seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Really like the idea of pumpkin in this chili. It gave it a nice texture and upped the nutritional value. I did add more traditional chili spices as it was really bland with the listed measure of spices in the recipe. We like our chili spicy. Is a great recipe to start with and tweak it to suit your own tastes. Thanks for a great recipe. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States