Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Definitely a good base, but made some changes. First, I sautéed the ground turkey, removed, then added onion and peppers. Once softened, I added garlic and then turkey again. Then added spices...chili powder, cumin and coriander. (add more chili powder than recipe calls for). I also added a can of black beans. Pumpkin adds creaminess but not overpowering. Delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is an excellent base for chili!! I added a can of black beans, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of corn, 3tbsp of chili powder, about 1/2 tsp of cumin, a splash of vegetable broth, a dash of nutmeg, and some chopped cilantro. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pacislander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Our pastor's wife made this recipe and sent me here to grab the recipe! This recipe won her 1st place in our chilli cook off and she's a vegetarian! very delicious, must try this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
With reviewer suggestions such as corn, black beans, more tomatoes and additional spices, it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wonderful! Couldn't really taste the pumpkin, but that's okay. And I copied the add-ins another reviewer posted. Delicious recipe though, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintypaper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I was very excited to try this, but unfortunately it left something to be desired. It's very hearty, but the pumpkin flavor doesn't come through at all. I added beans, cumin, extra garlic, onion and even a little taco seasoning, and it was still bland. The only explanation I can come up with is that the pumpkin masks all other flavor. Maybe a good starter, but you'll have to play with this recipe to make it a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
THIS WAS AWESOME, just what we were looking for on a cold day. We added black beans and corn, cuz it's not a chili until it has beans! We followed some other recommendations: "one can each of corn, black beans, and green chilies, about 2 tsp each of cumin and corriander, about 2 tbsp orange juice concentrate, about 1 1/2 tbsp honey, 2 bay leaves, more salt, about 2 cups of tomato juice, about 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes for some heat. "
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
A good recipe, however I had to do some tweaking. This recipe is a little bland. Here is what I did: I used one whole onion chopped it up, and sautéed it in 2 tbsp of salt free butter (real butter). I replaced the green and yellow bell peppers with a 16 oz bag of Classic Vegetable Mix by Birds Eye. I used 1.5 lbs of ground turkey (I recommend at least 2 lbs). I used 1 (14.5 ounce) can of diced tomatoes with fennel and red peppers. I used 2 (15 oz) can of pumpkin purée. I replaced the chile powder with 1 (1.2 oz) package of chile seasoning. I added pepper. Now...mix everything together. Taste (it will be bland). Add the DESIRED amount of salt until the right flavor is reached. (I took a container of salt and gently added salt, mixed, then tasted and kept repeating until the desired taste was reached).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was great. I added 2 cans of navy beans, and 1 tablespoon of cumin and ancho chili. I also let it cook for about 2 hours in my dutch oven. To finish I topped with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is quite bland if you expect a bit of a kick and great flavor from your chili. I decided that I liked the base of this recipe and have since modified it to suit my taste! I switched out the turkey for ground italian sausage(mild), 1 whole green pepper and 1 whole yellow pepper, 1 can and a 1/4 of a can of pumpkin(1/4 more only because i had extra left over, but I think it works better with more), cubed up into a little less than an inch uncooked sweet potato. Added about a cup of chicken broth and a cup of water. Cooked on low for 3 or 4 hours and bumped it up to high for about an hour- or until sweet potatoes are cooked through. Everything else I left as is. This was far more flavorful and very filling! Ends up looking like a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States