Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I'm not a big fan of chili, but this recipe was very good. I did add more chili powder and cumin, as well as a well drained can of black beans (for more fiber). The pumpkin helped thicken it. I'll definitely make this again. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe as written is really bland and thick as concrete. I doubled the chili powder, added a bay leaf, 1 tbsp cumin, 1 tbsp tandoori seasoning, 2 cups garlic chicken broth, & 1 can black beans. That made it taste pretty good. Oh, I didn't garnish with cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Took the advice of some of the reviews and used this recipe as only a base. To the original recipe I added jalapeno peppers, fresh diced tomato and fresh mashed pumpkin instead of canned, black beans, crushed red pepper, cumin, chili pepper, annatto, cayenne pepper, a little bit of vinegar and lemon juice. Amazing and spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipes! Next time I will add more onions and a chile. The recipe says a dash of salt but I used more like a tablespoon. That will keep it from being bland. Also used Fage Greek plain yogurt to cut out some of the fat of sour cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is a fantastic chili recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and added a can of chilies, corn and black beans, and they definitely added some depth and flavor. I also put in a bit more chili powder than what was called for in the recipe, because we like our chili extra spicy. Overall though, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
It's a good start but it definitely needed something added to it. I always assume when I see a highly rated recipe that people are actually rating this recipe not there amended version but I've come to realize that's not true. Next time I make this I will add corn and black beans, nutmeg and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The foundations of the recipe are good, but it required a lot of playing with seasoning. As written, the chili was very bland. I will make it again, though, adding more chili powder, some cumin and chipotle chili powder, a shot of cider vinegar, a bit of sugar and more salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for a chili cook off, and everyone thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
...was not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is now my go-to chili recipe, but I do have to add things to it for flavor, thus why it only gets 4 stars for as it is written. I add a can of beans, garlic powder, corn, and triple the amount of chili powder. I love that its hearty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States