Pumpkin Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The foundations of the recipe are good, but it required a lot of playing with seasoning. As written, the chili was very bland. I will make it again, though, adding more chili powder, some cumin and chipotle chili powder, a shot of cider vinegar, a bit of sugar and more salt, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for a chili cook off, and everyone thought it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
...was not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is now my go-to chili recipe, but I do have to add things to it for flavor, thus why it only gets 4 stars for as it is written. I add a can of beans, garlic powder, corn, and triple the amount of chili powder. I love that its hearty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was such a delicious recipe! Kudos to the author! I made some alterations per comments. I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes and and doubled the amount. I added one can black beans, one cup turkey stock, and one cup shredded carrots (which added a veggie without changing the taste). Instead of ground turkey, I used leftover turkey/pork sausage I had on hand, and this made it REALLY tasty. For spices, I used 1.5 tbsp red cayenne pepper instead of chili powder, .5 tsp black pepper, 2 tbsp cumin & coriander, 2 bay leaves, 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and nutmeg. Served over baked sweet potato with a sprinkling of mexican cheese mix. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I love this, as a base recipe, and especially the addition of pumpkin! This has become a regular meal in our home. I think I can only fairly give it 4 stars, as I've altered to personal taste, and always do it in my crock pot. The additions I've made are: 1 can each of kidney and black beans, sliced mushrooms, cumin, parsley, cayenne and red pepper flakes, and a couple tbs of brown sugar. Set it in my crock pot for 8 hrs-and yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The missing ingredient to this recipe is BROWN SUGAR! Add a few Tablespoons and it goes from bland to amazing. I also threw in some pumpkin pie spice. My husband loves it that way. For myself, I added extra chili powder and some crushed red peppers because I like my chili with more of a kick. My husband took his leftovers to work and his coworkers begged me to make more for them! I made this about a half dozen times during this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe was so simple and DELICIOUS! We served it to our dinner guests and they loved it as well. I also added a chopped jalapeno to give it an extra kick and a can of kidney beans to bulk it up just a bit more. Other than that, the recipe was perfect! I didn't need to build on it at all :) A super win and will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
You don't taste the pumpkin at all but it adds lots of vitamins and fiber to the dish. Your family will never know! I added some cumin and a little extra chili powder. You can easily adjust spices to your taste. Will definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This chili is new, interesting, and quite tasty. I liked the use of pumpkin, and the peppers gave it a nice, sweet touch. I added about a cup of corn, a can of black beans, some cumin, red pepper flakes, used a 15 oz. can pumpkin, and added extra chili powder. I also use one can of crushed tomatoes and 1/2 can of stewed tomatoes, and orange peppers instead of the green. It was really great garnished with cilantro leaves. Thanks for the different, fall recipe that all of my family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States