Pumpkin Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
So yummy and easy to make! Although I did make a few changes: I used 1/2 cup butter instead of margarine. Instead of 1 1/2 cup white sugar, I used 1 c white sugar + 1/2 c brown sugar. I omitted the orange zest because I didn't have any and am glad I did because I wanted the pumpkin flavor really to shine. For the cinnamon and cloves I just added an equal amount of Chinese 5 spice powder. And for the walnuts and dates, I added an equal amount of raisins and fresh cranberries. Mmm, this bread was so delicious! I don't know if it has anything to do with elevation and where this recipe orginated, but my bread took any extra 12 minutes to bake. I live outside Athens, GA which isn't below sea level or at a high elevation. GREAT BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
There were very good. I decided for time reasons I would make muffins instead of a traditional loaf pan. I got 12 slightly oversized muffins and 6 mini muffins. I also reduced the oven temp to 325, as well as cooking time. Larger muffins 35 minutes, smaller muffins 25 minutes. I left out the dates (didn't have them). I used organic crazins (dried cranberries) for the add-in. I only used a handful of chopped nuts (daughter not fond of them). The orange flavor is a great addition to this muffin. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This recipe is great. I have made it several times since I found the recipe on this site. My family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIEGENTRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcewen, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Excellent pumpkin bread! I did change it a tad bit. This fall I started using fresh sugar pumpkins for my recipes and found it better than canned. So, I used freshly baked pumpkin instead of canned, used Splenda for the sugar, and increased the orange zest to 3 Tablespoons. The orange accent is a perfect match for pumpkin recipes. I will be preparing many mini-loaves of this bread for the freezer to enjoy through the winter months. Thanks for the recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
wonderful sweet bread, lovely color and texture, I like lots of spice so doubled the amount. I did not have any zest, but it was delicious without it. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilypads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This bread is so moist, and delicious! Will definetely make again. The only change I made was I used butter instead of marg because of preference. Thanx for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Loved this bread's consistancy. Not as dense as some pumpkin bread recipes I've tried. Used half the butter and added an individual container of unsweeeted apple sauce. Used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown. Doubled spices but next time will not double cloves as was a bit too much. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe was FANTASTIC! My boyfriend and I made it for his birthday and it was gone within two days. It was so moist and thick and wonderful and had a great zing. The only changes I made to this recipe was substituting 1/2 cup of the white sugar for brown sugar, and we used frozen pumpkin puree (about 2 cups) instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisamarie LiGreci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I took someone else's idea and added Craisins instead of nuts, and I thought that it made the bread. I also had to cook mine longer than an hour - about 70-75 minutes. VERY GOOD with a very thin layer of melted cream cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!!!!! I made this for breakfast,and I plan on making it again and again! especially during the holidays. DEFINITELY MADE TO IMPRESS GUESTS! I added ginger and cloves, and substituted a little brown sugar for white. (about 1/3 of it) So aromatic! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States