Pumpkin Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I've made it a few times and it turns out perfect every time. I did a few things differently: -Used dried cranberries instead of dates -Used pecans instead of walnuts -Added roasted pumpkin seeds - just for extra texture The last time I made this recipe, I made muffins instead of loaves and it made about a dozen and a half muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ball

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was pretty good - very moist but a little too orangey for me...but that is a personal choice. I used 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and the juice of a navel orange, which was way more than a 1/4 cup, didn't measure for exactness. Might have helped it to be more like a traditional pumpkin bread should be. I did use fresh pumpkin, which is way better than canned! Omitted the nuts and did everything else the same. Took 65-70 minutes for the center to be completely done, but got dark fast, so put foil on the top for the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a delicious fall treat. Changes were made based on other reviews including using 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, increasing the amount of cinnamon to 1 tsp and using nutmeg (1/2 tsp.) instead of cloves. I also added 1/4 tsp of ginger. When I took the loaf to a luncheon, everyone enjoyed it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Really good. I left out walnuts & dates but put in cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Very moist. It had more of a citrus taste than a pumpkin taste, however, so if you're looking for a bread with a stronger pumpkin flavor, this may not be for you. Regardless, this is a very flavorful, soft, moist bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Witte Grubbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made these pretty much by the recipe - left out dates and nuts due to family preferences. I will be having a brunch for a large crowd soon, so I made these in miniature muffin pans. Recipe made 6 dozen mini muffins that were melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I did combine 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/3 C sugar, a teaspoon of orange zest, and 1/4 C fresh orange juice. When muffins came out of the oven, I dipped the tops in this; it made a really nice glaze. I will definitely be baking these again very soon and using them for that brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
To our taste buds this is one of the best sweet tea breads on Allrecipes because we never really cared for the oil based ones. As is usual I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and the fruit and nuts can be varied to suit tastes without spoiling a wonderful bread. Thanks for a great contribution to my files....bulging files!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good, maybe a little less cloves would be better, it over powers the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Segundo, California, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very nice tea bread. I like my pumpkin bread a little spicier so I increased the cinnamon amt. to 1 tsp. and added 1/4 tsp. each of ground ginger and ground nutmeg. I also used half white & half light brown sugar. Instead of dates I used orange-flavored dried cranberries and skipped the grated orange zest. I was out of O.J. so I sustituted with 1/4 cup low fat milk. The bread took about 1 hr. 10 min. to bake. Served with whipped cream cheese. Will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This recipe is really good. I made some changes. Ended up using whole wheat flour instead of regular. And didn't use quite as much sugar - 3/4 cup white and 1/2 cup brown. Added just the orange juice (fresh squeezed) but not the zest. Finally, I added 1/2 cup flaked coconut instead of the dates and walnuts. Also added a teaspoon of vanilla and a touch of ginger. Yummy! Works well as muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States