Pumpkin Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I took someone else's idea and added Craisins instead of nuts, and I thought that it made the bread. I also had to cook mine longer than an hour - about 70-75 minutes. VERY GOOD with a very thin layer of melted cream cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
So yummy and easy to make! Although I did make a few changes: I used 1/2 cup butter instead of margarine. Instead of 1 1/2 cup white sugar, I used 1 c white sugar + 1/2 c brown sugar. I omitted the orange zest because I didn't have any and am glad I did because I wanted the pumpkin flavor really to shine. For the cinnamon and cloves I just added an equal amount of Chinese 5 spice powder. And for the walnuts and dates, I added an equal amount of raisins and fresh cranberries. Mmm, this bread was so delicious! I don't know if it has anything to do with elevation and where this recipe orginated, but my bread took any extra 12 minutes to bake. I live outside Athens, GA which isn't below sea level or at a high elevation. GREAT BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Loved this bread's consistancy. Not as dense as some pumpkin bread recipes I've tried. Used half the butter and added an individual container of unsweeeted apple sauce. Used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown. Doubled spices but next time will not double cloves as was a bit too much. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
There were very good. I decided for time reasons I would make muffins instead of a traditional loaf pan. I got 12 slightly oversized muffins and 6 mini muffins. I also reduced the oven temp to 325, as well as cooking time. Larger muffins 35 minutes, smaller muffins 25 minutes. I left out the dates (didn't have them). I used organic crazins (dried cranberries) for the add-in. I only used a handful of chopped nuts (daughter not fond of them). The orange flavor is a great addition to this muffin. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This recipe is great. I have made it several times since I found the recipe on this site. My family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIEGENTRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcewen, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Excellent pumpkin bread! I did change it a tad bit. This fall I started using fresh sugar pumpkins for my recipes and found it better than canned. So, I used freshly baked pumpkin instead of canned, used Splenda for the sugar, and increased the orange zest to 3 Tablespoons. The orange accent is a perfect match for pumpkin recipes. I will be preparing many mini-loaves of this bread for the freezer to enjoy through the winter months. Thanks for the recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
wonderful sweet bread, lovely color and texture, I like lots of spice so doubled the amount. I did not have any zest, but it was delicious without it. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This bread is so moist, and delicious! Will definetely make again. The only change I made was I used butter instead of marg because of preference. Thanx for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe was FANTASTIC! My boyfriend and I made it for his birthday and it was gone within two days. It was so moist and thick and wonderful and had a great zing. The only changes I made to this recipe was substituting 1/2 cup of the white sugar for brown sugar, and we used frozen pumpkin puree (about 2 cups) instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisamarie LiGreci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!!!!! I made this for breakfast,and I plan on making it again and again! especially during the holidays. DEFINITELY MADE TO IMPRESS GUESTS! I added ginger and cloves, and substituted a little brown sugar for white. (about 1/3 of it) So aromatic! Thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States