Pumpkin Tea Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I love this bread and find the balance of pumpkin, orange and spice to be perfect. I sub butter for margarine, and sometimes sub 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 wh. sugar. I split the recipe between two smaller loaf pans: one plain, one with pecans, no dates or raisins. Always delicious. Permanent addition to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali Imel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Coarsegold, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Enjoyed this recipe. substituted with whole wheat pastry flour and added 1tsp of pumpkin pie spice as well as 1 banana. Used chocolate chips too no raisins..it was very moist and everyone wanted the recipe. YUMMO! I will make this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very, very good! We loved the bright taste of the orange zest. It was a perfect blend with the pumpkin. I added frozen cranberries instead of the dates and walnuts, and used butter instead of margarine. The batter made 2 dozen regular sized muffins. A real treat to make and eat on a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Out of the 5 or 6 pumpkin bread recipes I alternate between every year, this one is absolutely the best I've ever made. I use butter instead of margarine. I never use anything but butter. I did add a little freshly grated nutmeg. My grandmother told me years ago that you couldn't have pumpkin without nutmeg. I"l be making this recipe one more time before Christmas, dividing half the recipe into mini loaves to put in gift baskets. I hope everyone I give them to likes this bread as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
After trying many pumpkin bread recipes, this one is the keeper. Delicious, though I did not use the dates. Maybe next time. Will make again and most likely double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this loaf this afternoon and love the citrus flavor - a new spin on the traditional pumpkin bread. My bread took quite a while to firm up. I put foil over the top to prevent further browning. Maybe it was just my oven, but it definitely took much longer than an hour. Not quite as moist as I had hoped. The final product is still tasty and definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Beth Salois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smllover
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
mmmmm outstanding. I made a quadruple batch, as I made this recipe to purposefully get rid of some leftover tangerines I had, and was planning on freezing most of them. I changed the ingredients to fit what I had on hand, being such a large batch. I only used a cup and half of sugar, and about 2 cups of brown sugar, which was significantly less sugar than the recipe calls for. Even without most of the sugar, the bread was incredible. Not sweet, but so flavorful. My daughters loved them, a huge bonus. We even eat them for dessert and spread some cream cheese frosting to make it more "dessert-y". Oh sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
A very good recipe - and in answer to one of the reviewers, a 'tea bread' is a sweet bread served with tea. I took the advice of others and used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. For personal preference I added pecans and raisins instead of walnuts and dates. And why 4 stars? - I got a pumpkin bread recipe years ago from a column in the Winnipeg Free Press, it is still the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
There were very good. I decided for time reasons I would make muffins instead of a traditional loaf pan. I got 12 slightly oversized muffins and 6 mini muffins. I also reduced the oven temp to 325, as well as cooking time. Larger muffins 35 minutes, smaller muffins 25 minutes. I left out the dates (didn't have them). I used organic crazins (dried cranberries) for the add-in. I only used a handful of chopped nuts (daughter not fond of them). The orange flavor is a great addition to this muffin. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States