Pumpkin Tart With Pecan Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
YUMMMMMMMM"E"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
"Death by Ginger", the crust was awesome, but... I followed the recipe on the dot, but in the end my pretty looking pie was inedible. I would make this again, but omitting the fresh ginger and using 2T of pumpkin pie spice instead. It did set up nicely, but did not live up to the hype.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This pie turned out wonderful!! I made graham cracker crust for it and used fresh pumpkin. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. It was so delicious. I will be making it for Thanksgiving, thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Delicious! I didn't have oats, so I used all w.w. pastry flour. The middle was a bit too gooey for my taste. The outer inch was the perfect consistency. Next time I think I'll cook it at 350, and cook it until there's about a quarter-size underdone center, like I do for regular pies. I also subbed 1 tsp. ground ginger for fresh. I prefer the BH&G pumpkin pie spices - 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ginger, and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Very glad to have a tofu-free vegan recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
We have experimented with egg-free pumpkin pie recipes for years -- this is the best one yet! Substituted rice milk for soy, changed the spices to match the recipe from the festal pumpkin pie can that we used to make. Thought it could be a little sweeter, so may add 1/4 c. brown sugar to the filling next time. Served it to a non-vegan family and it was well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Really liked this. Not too sweet but can be sweetened to individual taste with more syrup. Loved the crust! I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin, less powdered ginger and corn starch instead of arrowroot. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I wanted to try this recipe mainly because the crust sounded really good to me. And in fact it was amazing (even though I had to replace the pecans with pine-nuts as that was all I had). I couldn't stop eating it. However I found the filling to be a little - I never thought I'd say this - too pumpkiny. The texture was really just like mashed pumpkin. But maybe that's because I used fresh pumpkin and didn't blend it well enough. I also only used half the amount of maple syrup and even though I thought the result was sweet enough, that surely also contributed to the overly-pumpkin flavour. So I may try again without these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Easy, light tasting, not too sweet, healthy, fast. I've made this twice now and have decided that it's my 'go to' pumpkin pie recipe from now on. No reason to make any other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Thank you, a wonderful and easy recipe. My vegan family loved it and I will make another pie in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This smells great, and tastes good too. The filling is perfect, and I love the pecans and maple syrup in the crust but felt the crust was missing a little something... bit blah. However my husband thought it was perfect. Only change I made was I used ground ginger instead of fresh and changed the amount to compensate for the sub. Perfect for my lactose intolerant kid, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States