Pumpkin Tart With Pecan Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This recipe is now one of my favorites. I can't wait to make this beautiful pumpkin tart for my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I liked it, though it was not too sweet, except for the fact that it was too ginger-y. Next time I will make it with a more traditional spice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I made this the last 2 years and it is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Way too much ginger in this recipe. Nobody would eat it and had to throw it away. Also didn't set up all the way. Was sorta goopy eventhough I cooked it longer than it said. Should have stuck with regular pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
Way too much ginger! The crust was good and I may use that again but the filling didn't set up entirly eventhough I cooked it extra long and again way too much ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I have made this the last two years during the holidays and it is good. I add extra pecans for the decorative topings and substitute a nut milk (I like almond or hazelnut) for the soy milk. I usually just use ground pumpkin pie spice instead of the spice combo listed. I have found that this pie is best when the filling is blended extra long in the food processor and stored in the fridge overnight before serving. Making it the same day seems to result in a less flavorful pie with a gloppier consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I made this last year to take to a vegan Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit! I will be making it again this year for my family's traditional Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Testing testing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I altered the recipe slightly, and it still turned out wonderfully. I made this with a fresh pumpkin, added no ginger because the other comments said it was a bit overpowering and used vanilla soymilk. Also, I added into the crust some granola and ground flaxseed. Instead of using cinnamon I used the pumpkin pie seasoning, which spiced it just fine. The only thing that made the recipe a bit difficult was finding the arrowroot powder and it is expensive. Overall, a crowd pleaser… especially the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Arrowroot powder is really great! Thanks for enlightening me. I did change this recipe a lot, I did a graham cracker crust because I'm just a fool for the graham. I used pumpkin pie spice and some dried crushed ginger instead of fresh. I liked the idea of having a gingery pie, but I do think a tablespoon would be too much. I used 'silk' soy creamer instead of regular soy milk, and I think it greatly enhanced the recipe, the pie was not runny at all. Another thing that made my pie perfectly thick, was that I used half the amount of maple syrup, purely because I ran out at 1/4 cup, I thought I had enough! But I really think it was good that that happened. I don't have a huge sweet tooth anyways. But all in all, I couldn't have made the filling any good without this. Try it with the creamer if you aren't worried about fat content, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States