Pumpkin Tart With Pecan Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Easy, light tasting, not too sweet, healthy, fast. I've made this twice now and have decided that it's my 'go to' pumpkin pie recipe from now on. No reason to make any other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Thank you, a wonderful and easy recipe. My vegan family loved it and I will make another pie in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This smells great, and tastes good too. The filling is perfect, and I love the pecans and maple syrup in the crust but felt the crust was missing a little something... bit blah. However my husband thought it was perfect. Only change I made was I used ground ginger instead of fresh and changed the amount to compensate for the sub. Perfect for my lactose intolerant kid, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was a great pumpkin pie for vegans and non-vegans alike. I only added half the fresh ginger based on the reviews but I should have added it all. Maybe those who thought it was too much were using ground ginger instead of fresh. Other than the ginger I followed the directions exactly and had no problems with it setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I thought the pie was really firm and the crust is EXCELLENT!!! I thought the ginger was a little bit much. I am going to make it again with less ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I just want to say THANK YOU for this recipe!!!!!!!!!! This is my first vegan thanksgiving and my mother-in-law asked me to make pumpkin pie. I was a little worried as I am the ONLY meatless eater in a huge family..This pie was a HIT and was so easy to make. I will make this every year and share it with as many people as I can, especially those who think pumpkin pie has to have cream in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonchik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie S
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was incredible! I replaced all the spices called for with 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice plus 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon on top of that. The pie firmed up beautifully (unlike a lot of other vegan recipes I've tried) and the crust was rich and delicious. I'm not even vegan but I'll be making this pie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This pie was great! I think those who thought it was too gingery must have used ground instead of fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My favorite part about this tart is the hearty, healthy crust. I wanted something south-beach friendly, so no white flour or sugar, and this fit the bill. I replaced the maple syrup with agave nectar (which is low-glycemic) and replaced the spices with 2t pumpkin pie spice. It was not very sweet, though, much less sweet than pumpkin pie usually is. I fixed that by eating it with ff cool whip on top. I may add 1/2c splenda to the filling next time. Also, I did not have any problems with the consistency, the texture turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
ok so i wanted to make a pumpkin pie for me and my boyfriend but i didnt have any evaporated milk on hand (just about every pumpkin pie recipe calls for this). so i decided to look up a non dairy recipe and i got this pumpkin tart recipe. well i didnt really feel like making any special crust and i didnt have pecans on hand either so i just made a regular pie crust. i also did not have arrow root, which i replaced with cornstarch, and i did not have soy milk either so i used skim. this is just a basic pie for the most part, but it turned out beautiful! and smells soooo good. eventually i would like to follow the recipe exactly, though i will definetly not add so much ginger, as that is a little over board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States