Pumpkin Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I used a different winter squash in place of pumpkin, but I bet the taste is not far off. The onion and tomato taste fantastic with the squash flavor. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Soooo good! although i mostly only borrowed the idea of a pumpkin taco - added garam masala, cinnamon and maple syrup to pumpkin while it simmered in apple juice, added indian spiced chicken with lots of cayenne and sauteed collards with black eyed peas, all rolled up in a soft taco topped with tomatoes and avocado - just like my favorite burrito at Mamacitas in Asheville, NC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I followed some suggestions and added black beans and lots more spice (cumin, Tabasco). I used our Halloween jack-o-lantern and mashed it together with the black beans, it was yummy! Much better than TVP that I normally use for taco night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Absloutly wonderful. But dont expect similar flavor or texture to beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I cooked butternut squash instead of pumpkin, with the onion. This recipe made a great tasting filling inside of homemade whole wheat tortilla shells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Crazy good vegan grub. I never would have thought to use pumpkin for tacos. It only needed a little help. I felt that the squash would compliment a touch of the Carribean so I chopped it small and added a can of rinsed black beans for protein, a one inch piece of ginger (minced), a dash of chipolte hot sauce, a pinch of allspice, and a squeeze of lime over it. I just stirred in the topping ingredients and served it with a pile of tortillas, yellow rice, and fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I enjoyed this! Given the other reviews I spiced it up a little more with 1 tsp of coriander and ground red pepper, as well as a little cayenne and white pepper. I also used a vegetable bouillon cube dissolved in 1/2 cup hot water rather than stock and added some fake meat crumbles. In some fresh corn tortillas it was delicious, and all the garnishes gave it an interesting blend of vegetable tastes. It was just a little bit bland, I'll probably spice/salt it up more next time. I never would have thought to make something like this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBORG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was really excited to try this recipe but also found that it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Sorry, but I found the filling for the tacos to be pretty bland. I used corn tortillas and they were all you could taste...plus they crumbled and resulted in a very messy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States