Pumpkin Swirl Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I followed the recipe, but didn't double it. Although the tester came out clean, the bread was wet when cool -- not runny, but solid and wet. Also, I really couldn't taste the cream cheese. Not sure what happened here. Maybe it needed to bake longer, but I didn't want the outside to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
My husband really liked this..he requested more as soon as the loaf was done...it was very moist but a bit heavy...next time I will make two smaller loaves instead of one huge one! Also tried the recipe substituting half of the white flour with whole wheat flour, eggbeaters instead of eggs and lowfat creamcheese, it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALICOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This bread was fragrant and easy on the eyes- however, mine took substantially longer to bake then the recipe indicated (try two hours). It tasted fine, but the cream cheese center was especially tricky to set up. I was a little dissapointed with the end result. The cream cheese center was a sparse, almost undetectable ribbon. I like the concept of this recipe, but I'm not sure whether I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is great! I made it for a party and everyone loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I started smelling it burn after 60 mins of cooking. It was not done in the middle and burnt around the bottom and edges. My pan size was correct, and my oven is calibrated. This is an expensive loaf to make, and dirties up a lot of dishes for a failed result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
Excellent bread! My family went crazy over it. It tastes just like a pumpkin roll, but it's so much easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I did what it suggested and doubled the recipe to make three 8" loaves. The loaves came out very moist and yummy. I would say that next time, I'll add more cinnamon or maybe just some pumpkin pie spice. I'll also add walnuts. I think this would be a great pumpkin nut bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Excellent bread! My family loved this. I had a little trouble with the cream cheese mixture. Mine seemed "runny". I think it may have been the size of the egg. Next time I'll be sure to use a small egg. Otherwise, wonderful and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This bread is very moist and wonderful. It has now replaced pumpkin pie as the family's "traditional" favorite. Still can't figure out how to get that swirl going, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This was really yummy pumpkin bread. I made 3 small loaves for gifts, and it went over very well! A recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States