Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Amazing soup! I think this will work with any kind of winter squash - there are so many varieties available in the fall. Instead of using 1 cup heavy cream, I used 1/3 cup heavy cream and 2/3 cup lowfat buttermilk, to cut down on the calories and fat. I also used ginger instead of nutmeg, because my husband doesn't like nutmeg. This soup is hearty and tasty, and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Great soup! Couple of tips, use a food processor to chop all of the veggies, saves significant amount of time chopping. Use an imersion blender to puree the soup, transfering hot soup to a blender can be dangerous! I doubled the recipe and substituted butternut squash for one of the pumpkins. I also had to boil the pumpkin cubes first in order to get the skin off. I served it with hot wheat rolls, all my neighbors are still talking about this soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
This is a great cold-weather soup! It was an awful lot of chopping to do, but definitely worth it! If you have a food processor, use it! My hand was sore from chopping so much! I kept saying "This better be good!", and luckily it was! lol I made the recipe to a T, and I thought it needed something, so I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar. That was just what it needed (and my husband thought so too). Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This was a delicious soup! I used butternut squash, instead of pumpkin. I had a hard time cutting it up, so I microwaved it a few minutes, to soften it a bit. Also, I have never heard of a creamed soup recipe that didn't add the cream at the end, after the puree. I did it this way and it turned out just fine. It's a lot of work, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This one's worth all the work........ so good i couldn't stop eating it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
All the work cutting the veggies is well worth it. I so enjoyed this soup that I made another batch the same week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
My family loved this recipe, and my 12-yr-old son said it was a "keeper". My other two kids, both rather finicky eaters, gobbled this right up and asked for more. We used this as a main dish, and therefore DOUBLED the recipe to serve 7 people, which only gave us about 2 leftover servings. Considering the amount of time it took to prep, I'm glad we did that -- I wouldn't have wanted to prep this twice in one day! Some tips: we sliced up the pumpkin and cut out the seeds, then boiled it in water for about 15 minutes to soften it up, making it much easier to pare the skin from the flesh. Because we doubled the recipe, we had to saute the veggies in batches before throwing them all together with the remaining ingredients in our large stockpot. Kid-friendly: 4 stars (if your kids don't like pumpkin or sweet potato to start with, they probably won't like this.) Easiness: 5 stars (it IS easy to make), but quickness, 2 stars -- takes long time to prep! Overall, 5 stars -- it tasted WONDERFUL, and the rave reviews from my parents, husband, and kids made it all worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This was a fabulous soup! Really hearty, and the leeks with the squash and sweet potatoes make for a really full flavor combination. These were my alterations: I can't eat much dairy, so like I do for all cream soups I omitted the cream and it was still wonderful (and MUCH healthier.) I baked the butternut squash instead of trying to peel it, and added it later than the raw vegetables. Also, I don't like the spicy flavors of nutmeg and cloves, and didn't have any of the other spices on hand anyway. I ended up adding a little ginger and thyme and tons of black pepper. I loved that the flavors in the soup can really stand on their own without the spices and cream. This is the best squash soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Ingredient privation of this small Welsh town determined the exchange of butternut squash for pumpkin, and thai seven spices and herbs de provence for Holly's list of herbs and spices. The recipe worked wonderfully, very comforting, and must be recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Really Tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.
Living In: Ryde, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States