Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Because the ingredient list was too vague, the soup turned out to have more the texture of hummus than soup although the flavor was good. (Perhaps too many leeks, sweet potatoes and pumkin for the stock?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Agreed- this recipe is A LOT of work and doesn't need any cream to make it hearty. It's hard to gauge the amount of vegetables the recipes calls for from the description, but the mix seems forgiving. End result is delicious and nutritious, and filling enough to be a main course (perhaps with some crusty bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I thought this soup was very good. However, next time I am going to omit the whipping cream. When I put it in my blender to puree it, the cream "whipped" so my soup was more like a mousse. I don't think it even needs cream. I think it would be fine on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! The only thing that would have been good is to have the actual amounts of vegies, since size varies so much. I ended up using more broth, and whole milk instead of heavy cream (the milk has much more cream here in Australia). Also, I did not have cloves, but the recipe was still marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Great soup! All the ingriedients went well together. I added a little bit of sugar(1/4 cup) and more ground nutmeg and ground cinnamon. I forgot about the celery, but it still tasted great. Make sure you use a big pot for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I don't like it...it's weird tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I thought this soup looked beautiful and tasted good. But strangely, my husband hated it and thought it was too sweet! I followed the recipe fairly closely and didn't add any sugar, so he must have just been tasting the spices. I didn't think it was sweet at all, so my husband's impression seems very odd to me. But I don't love it enough to make it just for myself, especially considering the prep time, so this will probably be the last time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
A Thanksgiving hit :) Although I did end up adding a bit of curry powder and dried mustard. Without a little extra spice it was slightly to bland, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Very tasty soup. the sweet potatos, pumpkin, and leeks meld together well and add depth to the flavor. i made it to the T except instead of chicken broth, i used homemade vegetable stock. i was a little skeptical before i pureed it, but it turned out nicely. i used just a smidgen of the spices, i didn't want them to overwhelm the soup. i prefer a curried pumpkin to a sweet pumpkin taste. i must admit peeling a pumkin is a pain in the butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
Very, very good. I used canned pumpkin and some left over zucchini as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States