Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great fall soup! I'm not usually a big fan of that spice mix, but I wanted to try it anyways. I wasn't crazy about this soup for that reason but it was still good. I didn't want to give a poor review because it's my own personal palate that made it less enjoyable for me, not a flaw in the recipe (plus my room mate LOVED it). I didn't use cream and just added another cup of vegetable stock. I did not puree the soup, I just mashed it with a potato masher because I like a fairly chucky soup. Next time if I was going to mash it, I would add more liquid because it wasn't very soupy. I used a suggestion from a previous reviewer saying to cut the pumpkin into slices and boil for 15 minutes for easier removal of the peel. Great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I modified this some. I left out the leek, added a touch of curry, cinamon, ginger for seasonings. I sauteed the onion w/some garlic and added zucchini and celery. I had fresh pumpkin puree so used that w/chicken broth and kept the pumpkin and sweet potato in chunks since my hubyy likes chunky soup. My 3 1/2 yr old ate 2 bowls & said make this everyday. My 2 yr old ate it as well. Yummy. It was thin though...maybe cause I didn't puree the veggies? I also added some shredded pork and rice before serving. I will be making this again!!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Tasty fall soup. I doubled the recipe and froze individual servings into freezer bags. Just cut the bag open, put into soup bowl and microwave for a few minutes. I used 1 1/2 cup half and half cream and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of 2 cups whipping cream. Also used chicken bullion cube in 2 cups hot water, and 6 cups chicken stock. This way i didn't need additional salt. Also added 2 small basil leaves and a kaffir lime leaf. Brought a little extra flavor to my soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Excellent without cream, with pumpkin spice (as others suggested) and squash instead of sweet potato (out of season) Thanks Marbalet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovebergs
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Best soup we ever had. The flavors are amazing. I substituted Yukon potatoes for the sweet potatoes but am trying it with the sweet potatoes tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I love this Pumpkin soup and so do all my friends that I have made for. The other day I made it realized I was out of celery and didn't have time to run to the store. I used cilantro instead and it was wonderful! I used Cinderella Pumpkin as well as it has nice smooth flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Awesome! I made this with butternut squash instead of the pumpkin, and roasted the squash and potatoes first, mostly to break up the prep time. I also omitted the cream, as the soup was so rich and tasty on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was absolutely fabulous. I used 2 percent milk instead of cream. My sweet potatoes must have been pretty big, because it turned out really thick. I think one could add more chicken stock if necessary. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Unlike many other reviewers, I followed the recipe with the minor exception of using lowfat cream. It is excellent. I like a little spice in my soups, so I might toss in one of my homegrilled chipotles in my next batch. I grew my own leeks and they vary greatly in size but I would estimate that if using store bought leeks, use two that are at least 2 inches in diameter if smaller, use accordingly more. Basically it appeared to me that the mass of leek and pumpkin should be about equal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I followed one reviewer's advice and seeded and boiled the pumpkin in three large pieces to make removal of the rind easier. I used veggie bouillon to make stock because I was out of chicken stock. Omitted the celery and cloves, and did not add any cream (and didn't substitute anything for the cream either). Used half a large can of sweet potatoes, and only 1 leek (as I only had one on hand). I pureed the soup in small batches in a blender because I don't have an immersion blender, and topped the soup with a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. This was a really tasty, thick puree of a soup. The flavors are hearty and refreshing, and go well together. This was really healthy and filling, and I really think you can skip the cream and be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States