Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, and Leek Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I followed one reviewer's advice and seeded and boiled the pumpkin in three large pieces to make removal of the rind easier. I used veggie bouillon to make stock because I was out of chicken stock. Omitted the celery and cloves, and did not add any cream (and didn't substitute anything for the cream either). Used half a large can of sweet potatoes, and only 1 leek (as I only had one on hand). I pureed the soup in small batches in a blender because I don't have an immersion blender, and topped the soup with a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. This was a really tasty, thick puree of a soup. The flavors are hearty and refreshing, and go well together. This was really healthy and filling, and I really think you can skip the cream and be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made this for a Thanksgiving dinner. It was enjoyed by some, but others had difficulty with the texture and unusual flavors. Not bad, but probably not one I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I don't add heavy cream (I try to stay healthy) or puree the soup (because I'm lazy) and I use butternut squash instead of pumpkin (pumpkin has a weird bite to it) and it's still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Good soup. A little overwhelming with the list of ingredients, but really you just chuck it all in a pot and away you go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is the best soup I've ever had, and all my friends thought its amazing too! I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin, and chilli flavoured olive oil instead of ordinary, and none of the spices except just a dash of cinnamon because am not a fan. Did not have chicken stock, so I used stock cubes in water instead, and I served the soup with fresh bloomer. You dont even need a main meal after that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a wonderful fall soup, especially with crusty rosemary bread. I subbed coconut milk for cream, omitted the celery, and used veg broth. I used slightly more than a pinch of each of the spices, but I think it's a good idea to start light. This would also be good with some fresh ginger and coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Sorry, but this was quite bland. It may have been partly my fault for possibly adding too much pumpkin and forgetting to put in the bay leaf until the last few minutes, but it was still pretty bad. We had to throw out the leftovers. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I read the reviews on this soup and made it for Thanksgiving...not a hit, not a keeper. Wasn't impressed with the flavors. For me it was just OK nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
None of us liked this. It ended up as dog food. I had the feeling I messed something up, the recipe was rather vague on amounts, but I'm a 'dump' cook- just dump stuff in- so it might of been my combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was great! A good soup for a cold day. Followed recipe pretty exactly and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States