Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, Leek and Coconut Milk Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I thought this soup was wonderful but i did make a few additions. I added carrots and garlic to the sauteed leeks/onions. It was kinda bland so I added about 1 teaspoon of red curry paste..the curry with the coconut milk and pumpkin- so good!Next time I'm going to add basmati rice as well. This is a nice fall soup and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was really good - exceeded expectations. From a nutrition point of view it was excellent. The pumpkin (I used butternut squash)and sweet potato has a low G.I. and the servings are low in fat. My family ate a delicious low fat, vegetarian, high in vitamin and mineral soup with a lower glycemic index. Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I didn't have leeks when I made this, but even without them it was a wonderful soup! The coconut milk really makes it. I find that it helps to add some of your own spices. I added some fresh ginger, some curry powder and a touch of chili peppers to the salt and pepper suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Oh wow! I just ate a huge bowl of this soup over some rice. I added curry powder and ginger, as suggested, along with a clove of garlic. What a wonderful, quick, easy meal idea. I'm going to try adding chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
An amazing soup! But I like it hot. I mixed in some red thai curry paste to offset the sweetness from the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is delicious, healthy comfort food. I added zuchini, peeled turnips, and used canned pumpkin puree instead of fresh. Also went with the suggestion of more spices, and tried nutmeg, allspice, ginger and curry. No need to puree, just mushed the veggies a little, and enjoyed it a bit chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I love the idea of this soup, but it needs just a little something to give it some oomph--I'm thinking fresh sage, which I'll try next time. I used butternut squash because there is no fresh pumpkin this time of year, so the soup was a touch sweeter than it might otherwise have been. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Liked it very much. And freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bray, County Wicklow, Ireland
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
good basic soup but need seasoning.I added Cumin and Tumeric and red pepper flakes for a bit of zing.It is very filling and I made it in the slow cooker and also homemade cheese bread.and I also switched cocnut milk for cream(about 1/2 C) the second time and I found this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I read other reviews and modified this recipe to my liking. I used 1 large can of pumpkin instead of fresh, 1 tsp red curry paste, 4 large carrots, 4 cloves of garlic and ground pepper. I blended it all until smooth in a blender. This soup is amazing, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States