Pumpkin, Sweet Potato, Leek and Coconut Milk Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I didn't have leeks when I made this, but even without them it was a wonderful soup! The coconut milk really makes it. I find that it helps to add some of your own spices. I added some fresh ginger, some curry powder and a touch of chili peppers to the salt and pepper suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
An amazing soup! But I like it hot. I mixed in some red thai curry paste to offset the sweetness from the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I loved this except I didn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
perfect for an autumn's day. we ate it with toasted ciabatta bread from a neighbourhood bakery. i used an immersion blender to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Oh wow! I just ate a huge bowl of this soup over some rice. I added curry powder and ginger, as suggested, along with a clove of garlic. What a wonderful, quick, easy meal idea. I'm going to try adding chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
delicious, made for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was really good - exceeded expectations. From a nutrition point of view it was excellent. The pumpkin (I used butternut squash)and sweet potato has a low G.I. and the servings are low in fat. My family ate a delicious low fat, vegetarian, high in vitamin and mineral soup with a lower glycemic index. Definitely a keeper. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I thought this soup was wonderful but i did make a few additions. I added carrots and garlic to the sauteed leeks/onions. It was kinda bland so I added about 1 teaspoon of red curry paste..the curry with the coconut milk and pumpkin- so good!Next time I'm going to add basmati rice as well. This is a nice fall soup and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had just enjoyed this soup in a neighborhood deli. The next week there it was in my in box. I love the flavors and pumpkins were everywhere at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is delicious and easy -my boyfriend requests this ALL the time! I usually add in a little hot pepper flakes, but other than that, it's delicious as published here. and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States