Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I thought these were great! If your not used to healthier baking you might have to aquire a taste to 100% whole wheat baking. If that is the case with some of the people who were not fond of this recipie I urge them to give it another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I also thought these were bland but I guess its a trade off for the health factor. I did like the moistness of them, they just need more flavor. Next time I plan on doubling the sugar and using some pumpkin pie spice in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I add almost 1/2 c splenda to provide more sweetness. The nutmeg is WAY too much in my opinion so I put about 1/2 teaspoon in. I still sometimes have the problem of mushy centers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I have been searching for a low sugar pumpkin muffin for my toddler... I will keep searching. I subbed honey for sugar and halved the recipe. I also made minis, but they still took over 20 minutes to cook and would sort of mushy in the middle and the outside got tough. I love using whole wheat, so the taste could be good with some tweaking of the recipe-just not sure what. Sorry, probably won't waste time making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
so bad....not enough sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
these aren't the best ever but i like em alright. they're just missing something. i added some brown sugar and vanilla, next time i think ill add nuts. i think this is a good recipe if you're dieting, but if you're one of those people who like everything super sweet they're definitely not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHASINRABBITS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
As written, these are very bland, and the taste of the wholewheat flour was a bit overpowering. I've never had a 'flour' taste in baked goods before, so this was a first. After adding 4 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice, and doubling the sugar, this still was bland. Added salt and had used sweetened applesauce. Another tsp. each of cinnamon and allspice helped. They did bake up nicely, but the batter is incredibly thick. Made 8 Texas sized muffins and baked for 37 minutes. If one is on a special diet, then this is a pretty good recipe but will need much more spice to give it something. I would recommend adding salt and more spice if making these without any dietary restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very moist and tasty after cooling. Added some raisins and used vanilla extract. I'll try some variations with different spices that were recommended in other ratings. Doubled the recipe.Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Does not have a very good taste. Needs to be sweeter in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
The first bite or two, we all thought it was just average. But by the end of the muffin, we all loved it -- children, too! These muffins are great for breakfast (or any time, for that matter). My kids can't get enough of them. Some of the reviews were not very positive, but we are accustomed to ww flour, so maybe that helps? I successfully substitued pumpkin pie spice or allspice for the cinnamon and nutmeg when I ran out. Based on other reviews, I also increased the almond to 1-1/2t. and added 1t. vanilla. Very good. Very moist muffin. A new favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States