Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
For a healthy recipe, these were pretty tasty. Not too sweet, but a nice combination of flavors. I definitely recommend eating them quickly, because they got soggy in the middle after sitting for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Rating it as a low-fat/low sugar option, I'm giving this 4-stars ... going up against regular, it wouldn't make it that far ... but, if you know what you're getting into, you will enjoy these, as did I ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I thought these were very good. I used Trader Joes Unbleached White Whole Wheat Flour, reduced the nutmeg to about 1 tsp and used vanilla instead of almond. I added some pecans in the end. They are very moist in the middle (if you've ever made low fat muffins with reduced oil or applesauce as a replacement you know what to expect). I love that they are low in sugar and fat and pumpkin is a "Superfood" loaded with vitamins. They'd also be good with raisins or blueberries I think. If you want a healthy muffin, you should try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
this recipe did not do it for me. I have been looking for the perfect pumpkin muffin that is hearty and this was not it. the applesauce makes it too bland, and I even added extra spices and vanilla. I did not have almond extract though, perhaps this would have added what it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is an excellent, healthy muffin recipe. I made adjustments as noted by prior reviews: 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (instead of cinnamon/nutmet), vanilla instead of almond extract, 1 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2, 1 tsp. salt, 1 cup Craisins (dried cranberries). I baked them 25 minutes, and they turned out very moist and tasty. Both my toddlers loved them. I sprinkled top with powdered sugar. Next time might add dried apple pieces as well. Also, makes 24 (vs. the stated 18). I took to preschool for treats. Nice to find a healthy and tasty recipe to feed the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Scrumptious and wonderful texture. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very bland and had a funny after taste. My kids were excited bcs they smelled so good but couldnt finish one. Sorry, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Muffins were light and moist. Flavor was simple but good. Will add nuts, cranberries, or raisins next time to try something different. I did make a few alterations, as others had mentioned. Used vanilla extract instead of almond, used 3 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and nutmeg, and added 1/3 c of brown sugar. Enjoyed this healthier version. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
It is a great base for something, but to just use those ingredients tastes like something is missing. I added raisins to the second half and it helped, but it still tasted like it was missing a certain flavor. I'm wondering if it just needs salt?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this for my childs preschool class. We made a test batch since the sugar is low to see if we liked them. My kids could not get enough of them and when we brought them to school there was nothing left afterwards. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States