Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I didn't have applesauce so instead I used a can of creamstyle corn and it turned out really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
The muffins, Pumpkin Spice Muffins, have no taste! No spice! I followed the direction carefully. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These muffins are good for healthy muffins. The almond flavoring is overpowering and I can't really taste the pumpkin. Maybe try vanilla extract instead or don't add any additional flavoring besides the spices. This recipie would also be good with raisins or nuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
this recipe was good but I recommend you cut the applesauce to one cup and they turn our perfect. I added raisins and pumpkin seeds to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe makes good, healthy muffins. I didn't have applesauce, so I used a mashed banana and a little extra pumpkin. As recommended, I used extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
For a healthy recipe, these were pretty tasty. Not too sweet, but a nice combination of flavors. I definitely recommend eating them quickly, because they got soggy in the middle after sitting for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Rating it as a low-fat/low sugar option, I'm giving this 4-stars ... going up against regular, it wouldn't make it that far ... but, if you know what you're getting into, you will enjoy these, as did I ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I thought these were very good. I used Trader Joes Unbleached White Whole Wheat Flour, reduced the nutmeg to about 1 tsp and used vanilla instead of almond. I added some pecans in the end. They are very moist in the middle (if you've ever made low fat muffins with reduced oil or applesauce as a replacement you know what to expect). I love that they are low in sugar and fat and pumpkin is a "Superfood" loaded with vitamins. They'd also be good with raisins or blueberries I think. If you want a healthy muffin, you should try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
this recipe did not do it for me. I have been looking for the perfect pumpkin muffin that is hearty and this was not it. the applesauce makes it too bland, and I even added extra spices and vanilla. I did not have almond extract though, perhaps this would have added what it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is an excellent, healthy muffin recipe. I made adjustments as noted by prior reviews: 4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice (instead of cinnamon/nutmet), vanilla instead of almond extract, 1 cup brown sugar instead of 1/2, 1 tsp. salt, 1 cup Craisins (dried cranberries). I baked them 25 minutes, and they turned out very moist and tasty. Both my toddlers loved them. I sprinkled top with powdered sugar. Next time might add dried apple pieces as well. Also, makes 24 (vs. the stated 18). I took to preschool for treats. Nice to find a healthy and tasty recipe to feed the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States