Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I do not understand how others had a hard time with this recipe. If you follow it exactly as written it works GREAT. Thanks again Robin for a wonderful recipe! I may try adding 2/3 cup of raisins to the next batch for a change of pace. I really enjoy pumpkin and these are great... not to mention healthy! If you do not have the flour called for do not waste your time and money. It would make up differently! This is chemistry folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
it's hard to tell when these muffins are done, because the center is still very wet when the top is nice and brown. Mine did not rise well at all, and the centers were almost mushy. Still, the flavor was good and they're so healthy that I will definitely try again. Add extra almond and vanilla extracts for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I would use less nutmeg next time. My husband and I thought they were pretty good, but our kids devoured them - especially when I topped them with peanutbutter. We avoid sugar so we substituted 2T applejuice concentrate for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
UPDATE: Please read before making these muffins.... This recipe is truly for those of us who are diabetic, and/or are watching carb intake; because of the lack of added fat and the addition of the applesauce, the texture may take some getting used to. But for those of us who need this recipe to work, it certainly does. Per the reviews, I cut the applesauce in HALF, and doubled the spices. This took care of the "too moist" problem. I also added a tablespoon of ground flax seed for additional fiber. They were delicious. As stated, if you DON'T need to watch your fat, carbs, and calories please choose another pumpkin muffin recipe with full fat. For those of us who need this recipe, I, for one, was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
This is a delicious, sweet, and spicy recipie. I love the muffins so much; they are esspecially good when you add raisins or some chopped nuts. I also add a tsp. of almond extract and a tsp. of vanilla extract to add more flavor because I love almonds but want these muffins to serve as "diet" muffins. This is definatly a recipie to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I wanted this to be more pumpkin than apple--what I did was used two cups of pumpkin puree and one cup of applesauce. I did sprinkle a little brown sugar over each muffin before baking. My muffins were done at 22 minutes. These turned out quite big--very fluffy and moist. Very pretty muffin. My one issue was that it had a little too much nutmeg. I'd like to make this again but I think I would use pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Very healthy breakfast food, easy to make. I think dried cranberries or cherries would liven this recipe up a bit but still keep them healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These muffins are very moist, but I found them also to be very bland. I added the extra spices and vanilla and almond extract that some had suggested and still didn't get any flavor out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
too much nutmeg -- tasted bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States