Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Too much nutmeg and could have used a little more sugar. With those modifications this IS a recipe worth trying. Whole wheat and pumpkin is a great combination. I also had to bake much longer than called for - could have been my oven, but make sure they're ready before you take them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I didn't have a muffin tin yet (oh horror!), so I poured the mixture into a springform pan, and it made a lovely moist pumpkin spice cake. I also used the pumpkin pie mix instead of puree, vanilla instead of almond extract, and all purpose flour instead of whole wheat -- and then topped it with a light glaze. Really delicious! I brought it to a brunch and left with none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Very moist. And I even forgot to put the oil in! I used canned pumpkin pie mix since I had some left over from another recipe. I just left out 1/2 the spices and sugar since the pie mix already was flavored. They weren't a huge hit in my house, but my very picky son ate them and I really like them. They weren't overly sweet or cake-like which is what makes things a hit here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This recipe has way too much nutmeg in it; it comes out like nutmeg-flavored dough in a muffin tin. The pumpkin was really hard to taste; perhaps it needs some more sugar or something to bring out the flavor. I couldn't eat these muffins hot, but they tasted better after being in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I was amused by the fact that this recipe recieved both very high and very low ratings, so I just had to see for myself. For the healthfulness of this muffin, it is very good -- moist and flavorful. I substituted the 2nd tsp of nutmeg with 1/2 tsp of cloves and 1/2 tsp of ginger for more flavor. I also did not have unsweetened applesauce on hand, so I used what I had (sweetened). I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Ohhh, I wish I could give this a better rating. I followed the instructions utterly to the letter and I was not impressed. The muffins had great texture and were very moist, but the "sweet" in the author's description did not apply to my muffins--it was as if I'd left the sugar entirely out. I wasnt expecting cupcake-sweet, but this was very very bland. They are pretty good with some peanut butter or (sweetened!) cream cheese, which ends up increasing the calories. I have some Funfetti icing in the fridge--I think I'll try that out! :) I'll enjoy the rest of these but I dont think I'll be making them again. Maybe my tastes are just different! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
These are excellant. The first time I made them, I didn't use applesauce and they turned out more wholesome. For more yumminess, top with cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I'm sorry, nobody in my family liked these. They were not really even edible. They were dry and tasteless and very heavy! Would never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
the perfect toddler muffin! naturally sweetened and wholesome! My daughter loves them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
It is very difficult to find a recipe for whole wheat muffins that are moist and light. (I usually end up with a dense rock!) This recipe has everything I look for: 100% whole grains, low fat and low sugar content on top of great taste and texture. A keeper for sure! Thanks Robyn! P.S: The first time I made these I used paper liners and half of the muffin stuck to the paper, so be sure to use a non stick pan as indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States