Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Very moist and tasty after cooling. Added some raisins and used vanilla extract. I'll try some variations with different spices that were recommended in other ratings. Doubled the recipe.Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Does not have a very good taste. Needs to be sweeter in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
The first bite or two, we all thought it was just average. But by the end of the muffin, we all loved it -- children, too! These muffins are great for breakfast (or any time, for that matter). My kids can't get enough of them. Some of the reviews were not very positive, but we are accustomed to ww flour, so maybe that helps? I successfully substitued pumpkin pie spice or allspice for the cinnamon and nutmeg when I ran out. Based on other reviews, I also increased the almond to 1-1/2t. and added 1t. vanilla. Very good. Very moist muffin. A new favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
These muffins were very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Very bland! Did not have much pumpkin flavor. Not enough sugar even after I adjusted as someone had suggested. Was dissapointed. Oh - and they stuck horribly to my muffin cups. Sorry, not a winner with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Too much nutmeg and could have used a little more sugar. With those modifications this IS a recipe worth trying. Whole wheat and pumpkin is a great combination. I also had to bake much longer than called for - could have been my oven, but make sure they're ready before you take them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I didn't have a muffin tin yet (oh horror!), so I poured the mixture into a springform pan, and it made a lovely moist pumpkin spice cake. I also used the pumpkin pie mix instead of puree, vanilla instead of almond extract, and all purpose flour instead of whole wheat -- and then topped it with a light glaze. Really delicious! I brought it to a brunch and left with none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Very moist. And I even forgot to put the oil in! I used canned pumpkin pie mix since I had some left over from another recipe. I just left out 1/2 the spices and sugar since the pie mix already was flavored. They weren't a huge hit in my house, but my very picky son ate them and I really like them. They weren't overly sweet or cake-like which is what makes things a hit here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This recipe has way too much nutmeg in it; it comes out like nutmeg-flavored dough in a muffin tin. The pumpkin was really hard to taste; perhaps it needs some more sugar or something to bring out the flavor. I couldn't eat these muffins hot, but they tasted better after being in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I was amused by the fact that this recipe recieved both very high and very low ratings, so I just had to see for myself. For the healthfulness of this muffin, it is very good -- moist and flavorful. I substituted the 2nd tsp of nutmeg with 1/2 tsp of cloves and 1/2 tsp of ginger for more flavor. I also did not have unsweetened applesauce on hand, so I used what I had (sweetened). I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States