Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I love this recipe!!! I did make some adjustments. All I did was add 1/2 cup of brown suger, about a cup of cranberries and used just vanilla extract, no almond. For the spice I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and nutmetg and I didn't have buttermilk so I just used 2%. My hubby loves them as well. I am trying to get him to eat breakfast and this was a great muffin to get him started that was also somewhat healthy. I love baking with whole wheat flour and this has a great taste to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I liked these, but they don't seem to have much of a shelf life. They started to taste funny and the texture changed by day 3, even though they were wrapped air tight. My son didn't care for them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I've made these a few times but something about the flavor was off. Texture was always good and they're very moist. I'm happier with some changes I made - used half the applesauce and added some yogurt, and for sweetness I add 3/4 cup dried cranberries and 3/4 cups chopped dried prunes (They get really sweet when baked!) Ended up omitting the almond extract. Better the next day. Will make again, but will continue tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Delicious. Made as written. Next time I will use vanilla extract in place of almond. I like almond extract, but it leaves a funny aftertaste. I may add a little salt. But the texture and spice were great. They baked for 20 minutes and are perfect, but my oven also runs hot. Thanks for a good healthy muffin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
These muffins turned out pretty good, but i did add extra almond extract as well as a splash of vanilla extract after reading several other reviews. i would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
These muffins turned out too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These muffins were too spicy and not sweet enough, and I'm not someone who has to have things sweet. The texture of mine turned out really well, so I gave it 2 points for that. My husband was shocked at the taste (not in a good way), but I didn't prepare him for the health factor. My 3-year-old ate 2 the first day, but the next day just nibbled at it. I ended up eating the rest, but had to use honey-butter to make them palatable! Don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is a very moist and flavorful muffin. I used 4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and nutmeg and omitted the almond extract. Next time I will add vanilla extract. I did add some chopped walnuts. DELICIOUS and just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
These muffins are pretty good considering that they are more healthy than the average muffin. I liked the almond extract. The muffins were very flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
i loved this muffin. not too sweet, very moist. loved the whole wheat flour. i halved the nutmeg, doubled the cinnamon and used vanilla instead of almond extract. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States