Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
It's bland because there's no salt. Add about 1/4 tsp salt. That will bring out the flavors of the spices considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just made a batch of these and made just a couple of adjustments: Used 1/2 cup Splenda instead of sugar, used 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice plus a generous sprinkle of just cinnamon, and added 1.5 tsp vanilla extract. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I think these are delicious. They are not super sweet, but they have a lot of flavor. I will definitely make these again and will likely use a bit more walnuts and maybe add some raisins. I have an oatmeal cookie recipe that uses raisins that you soak in beaten egg, so I would probably do that here and soak my raisins in the 2 beaten eggs called for. Also, I saw many reviews that complained of sticking. I made my batch mostly in a silicone muffin pan and had no sticking at all. The other 6 muffins I made in a non-stick muffin pan that I sprayed with Pam first, and again no sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I'm eating these as I type! They are delicious! A wonderful, healthy muffin recipe. Even my picky 5 yr old daughter loves them. I made a few alterations. I added 2 tps of pumpkin pie spice, 2 tsps of ginger, and topped them with a cinnamon sugar mix. I didn't have almond so I used vanilla instead. This made 19 muffins so we will have plenty left over for breakfast tomorrow morning. Thanks for posting a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really LAME!!! I disliked these so much that I didn't even bother to bake the remaining batter after my first batch. I even added chocolate chips and glazed them with honey butter just to make them bearable! These are not even remotely sweet, they really lack flavor, and the nutmeg was overbearing. And we love healthy stuff. I made this with a combo of Kamut/Barley flour, which should have made them even better and just as healthy. Trust me - use a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I have perfected this with a few tweaks! Decrease the apple sauce to 1 Cup, use whole wheat PASTRY flour, and bump up the pumpkin a few more tablespoons. They turned use very light and fluffy. For being such a healthy muffin, these are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I was a little disappointed by these muffins, they were just a little blander than I expected them to be. They go well with some low-calorie cream cheese though. Maybe next time I'll add more cinnamon, nutmeg, and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I didn't have applesauce so instead I used a can of creamstyle corn and it turned out really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
The muffins, Pumpkin Spice Muffins, have no taste! No spice! I followed the direction carefully. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These muffins are good for healthy muffins. The almond flavoring is overpowering and I can't really taste the pumpkin. Maybe try vanilla extract instead or don't add any additional flavoring besides the spices. This recipie would also be good with raisins or nuts added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
this recipe was good but I recommend you cut the applesauce to one cup and they turn our perfect. I added raisins and pumpkin seeds to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States