Pumpkin Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Wonderful! I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I used 1/2 cup bran and 1 1/2 cup white flour. I added ginger, cloves and dried cranberries and they turned out wonderfully! Great recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
These were ok. I modified it a bit. Used 1.5 cups W/W flout and 1/2 cup white, 1 cup pumpkin (homemade), 1 cup applesauce (homemade) as both are a bit watery, added a 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 cup packed br. sugar. I was a bit concerned after whipping up the batter, cause it was very volumunious, thought it was going to overflow my bowl. A bit bland for my taste, need to bump up the sweetness just a bit, and needs more spice, just didn't taste like what I expected. Will make again, but will try Pumpkin Pie Spice and topping with spice/sugar or a streusel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Not a very spiced muffin. Pretty blah. Wouldn't bother to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is an ok muffin recipe, nothing outstanding. The boyfriend loves them though because they aren't sweet, so that makes them good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
It's bland because there's no salt. Add about 1/4 tsp salt. That will bring out the flavors of the spices considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just made a batch of these and made just a couple of adjustments: Used 1/2 cup Splenda instead of sugar, used 4 tsp pumpkin pie spice plus a generous sprinkle of just cinnamon, and added 1.5 tsp vanilla extract. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. I think these are delicious. They are not super sweet, but they have a lot of flavor. I will definitely make these again and will likely use a bit more walnuts and maybe add some raisins. I have an oatmeal cookie recipe that uses raisins that you soak in beaten egg, so I would probably do that here and soak my raisins in the 2 beaten eggs called for. Also, I saw many reviews that complained of sticking. I made my batch mostly in a silicone muffin pan and had no sticking at all. The other 6 muffins I made in a non-stick muffin pan that I sprayed with Pam first, and again no sticking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I'm eating these as I type! They are delicious! A wonderful, healthy muffin recipe. Even my picky 5 yr old daughter loves them. I made a few alterations. I added 2 tps of pumpkin pie spice, 2 tsps of ginger, and topped them with a cinnamon sugar mix. I didn't have almond so I used vanilla instead. This made 19 muffins so we will have plenty left over for breakfast tomorrow morning. Thanks for posting a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really LAME!!! I disliked these so much that I didn't even bother to bake the remaining batter after my first batch. I even added chocolate chips and glazed them with honey butter just to make them bearable! These are not even remotely sweet, they really lack flavor, and the nutmeg was overbearing. And we love healthy stuff. I made this with a combo of Kamut/Barley flour, which should have made them even better and just as healthy. Trust me - use a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I have perfected this with a few tweaks! Decrease the apple sauce to 1 Cup, use whole wheat PASTRY flour, and bump up the pumpkin a few more tablespoons. They turned use very light and fluffy. For being such a healthy muffin, these are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I was a little disappointed by these muffins, they were just a little blander than I expected them to be. They go well with some low-calorie cream cheese though. Maybe next time I'll add more cinnamon, nutmeg, and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States